Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Collection Development Procedures: Faculty Liaison Duties

Policies, guidelines, and forms for subject specialists doing collection development

Welcome and Thanks!

Thank you for accepting the duty of being a library liaison for your discipline.  Your active participation will ensure that your colleagues are informed about library issues and have some input into the development of the library collection.  If you have questions about anything, you can contact the subject librarian for your discipline or the Associate Library Director, Harvey Castellano (hcastell@utep.edu). 

Subject Librarians

Subject Librarian Contact
Accounting Lilia Fernandez 915-747-6716
African-American Studies Maria Teresa "Tessy" Torres 915-747-6723
Art David Flores 915-747-6726
Asian Studies Alejandra Mayer 915-747-5364

Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Sciences

Geology, Physics

Bob Klapthor 915-747-5040
Chicano Studies Jacob Galindo 915-747-6702
Children's Collection Lisa Weber 915-747-5039
Clinical Laboratory Jacob Galindo 915-747-6702
Communications,  Film Studies Jacob Galindo 915-747-6702
Computer Science, Industrial Engineering, Mathmatics Les Arms 915-747-6701
Creative Writing, English Joy Urbina 915-747-5066
Criminal Justice John Padilla 915-747-6704
Economics, Finance, Marketing, Management Lilia Fernandez 915-747-6716
Education Jennifer D. Urban-Flores 915-747-5394
Engineering Debjani Mukhopadhyay 915-747-6715
History Abbie Weiser 915-747-6839
Humanities, Judaica Abbie Weiser 915-747-6839
Intelligence & National Security Studies John Padilla 915-747-6704
Kinesiology Jennifer D. Urban-Flores 915-747-5394
Languages & Linguistics, Onomastics Virginia Rassaei 915-747-5687
Library Science Harvey Castellano 915-747-6734
Music John Padilla 915-747-6704
Nursing, Public Health, Social Work Marissa Testerman 915-747-5269

Occupational, Physical, Rehab Counseling

Speech Pathology

Angela Lucero 915-747-5685
Pharmacy Harvey Castellano 915-747-6734
Philosophy, Religious Studies Lizzie Ochoa 915-747-6714
Political Science, Public Administration Angela Lucero 915-747-5685
Psychology Jacob Galindo 915-747-6702
Sociology & Anthropology Claudia Rivers 915-747-6725
Theater and Dance Maria Teresa "Tessy" Torres 915-747-6723
Women's Studies Lisa Weber 915-747-5039

 

Duties of the Faculty Library Liaison

  1. Keep in touch with your subject librarian.  Respond to emails or phone calls.
  2. If you possibly can, arrange to have your librarian attend a department meeting. Allow time for the librarian to introduce herself/himself, give an overview of the collection and databases in your discipline, and detail the services available to faculty.
  3. When the librarian sends you lists of new books to review, distribute those lists to your colleagues and review them yourself to select books for the library.
  4. Remember that the library wants to provide books for everyone from freshmen to professors, and think of the whole collection in addition to your own specialty when requesting books.
  5. When the librarian asks for feedback on a database or other resource, please respond and encourage your colleagues to respond.  Subscription, purchase, or renewal of electronic resources depends largely on usage statistics and faculty feedback. If you don't use it or defend it, you might lose it.
  6. Bring your students to the library for information literacy training and encourage your colleagues to do so. Most students and many professors are not expert at searching for scholarly information in the library. We can help and we're eager to help!

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |