University Library Collection Development

This guide contains policies, procedures, and forms to assist librarians in collection development at the University Library. Please address any questions or corrections to the Associate Library Director, Harvey Castellano @ hcastell@utep.edu.

Collection Development Policy

1. Introduction

The University Library recognizes its responsibility to provide a diverse and comprehensive collection of resources to support the academic, research, and recreational needs of its students, faculty, and staff. As a library primarily funded by student fees, we are committed to transparency, collaboration, and responsiveness to the evolving needs of our community.

2. Objectives

• To build and maintain a collection that supports the teaching, learning, and research objectives of the university's academic programs.
• To provide access to resources that reflect diverse perspectives, cultures, and viewpoints.
• To continuously assess and adapt the collection in response to changing curricular needs, technological advancements, and user feedback.
• To promote information literacy and critical thinking skills through access to a wide range of scholarly and popular materials.

3. Selection Criteria

Materials will be selected for inclusion in the library's collection based on the following criteria:

• Relevance to the university's academic programs and research interests.
• Authority and credibility of the author or publisher.
• Accuracy, currency, and quality of content.
• Potential for supporting diverse perspectives and interdisciplinary approaches.
• Demand or anticipated use by students, faculty, and staff.
• Cost-effectiveness and availability within budgetary constraints.
• Accessibility and usability, including considerations for electronic resources and formats accessible to students with disabilities.

4. Collection Scope

The library's collection will encompass a variety of formats and subjects, including but not limited to:

• Books, e-books, and periodicals covering academic disciplines taught at the university.
• Electronic databases, journals, and other online resources.
• Audiovisual materials, such as streaming media, and multimedia resources.
• Special collections, archives, and rare materials relevant to the university's history and research interests.

5. Acquisitions Process

The library will employ a collaborative approach to collection development, involving input from subject librarians, faculty, students, and other stakeholders. Materials and resources will be selected that support the curriculum of the academic programs offered at UTEP.

Purchases will be made through established vendors and publishers, with a focus on securing favorable pricing and licensing terms. Donations of materials will be accepted in accordance with the library's collection development policy and guidelines.

6. Review and Evaluation

The library will regularly assess the relevance, usage, and condition of materials in its collection through qualitative and quantitative measures. Feedback from users, faculty surveys, circulation statistics, and other assessment tools will inform decision-making regarding retention, replacement, or deselection of items.

7. Access and Copyright

The library will uphold the principles of fair use and copyright compliance in providing access to materials for educational and research purposes. Licensed electronic resources will be made available to authorized users in accordance with contractual agreements and copyright laws.

8. Revision and Amendments

This collection development policy will be reviewed periodically by library administration and stakeholders to ensure its continued effectiveness and alignment with the university's mission and goals. Amendments may be proposed and adopted as needed to reflect changes in the academic landscape, technological advancements, or community needs.

9. Adoption and Dissemination

This policy will be made accessible on the library's website and in print format upon request.

10. Access to Materials

The library will provide open access to its collection whenever possible. Materials that are not in high demand may be placed in off-site storage but will still be accessible to students and faculty upon request.

11. Funding

The library's collection development budget is primarily derived from student fees. The library will also seek grant funding and donations to support the acquisition of new materials.

12. Conclusion

The university library is committed to fostering a dynamic and inclusive learning environment through the thoughtful selection, management, and provision of information resources. This collection development policy serves as a guiding framework for our ongoing efforts to meet the evolving needs of our diverse community.