Skip to main content

Library Collection Development Procedures: Home

Policies, guidelines, and forms for subject specialists doing collection development

Welcome

This guide contains policies, procedures, and forms to assist collection development librarians at the UTEP Library. Please address any questions or corrections to Kathy Poorman, Assistant Library Director for Technical Services, kpoorman@utep.edu

More Information

For additional information on procedures on selection and weeding, see the Technical Services Procedures guide.

Collection Development Duties

These are the basic duties of collection development librarians. Please see the Collection Development Evaluation Criteria tab for details.

1. Know, evaluate, and maintain the collection in your assigned areas. Regularly review the damaged books that have been pulled from the stacks and the recently donated books in your area. Complete the appropriate evaluations (see Damaged books evaluation slip and Donated books evaluation slip)

2.  Communicate with your departmental liaison; be aware of new programs being developed and address the information needs for them; know what your faculty and students need.

3. Use Yankee Book Peddler's GOBI system to create lists to send to your liaison and to find information about books.

4. Monitor and spend the funds allocated to your area within the deadlines; submit quarterly reports on your fund balances and on your collection development activities. In lieu of a quarterly report, you may copy the Collection Development Librarian on the lists and major emails you send to your faculty liaisons.

5. Monitor the performance of the approval plan for your area and suggest changes as needed. (See Approval Plan tab)

6. Attend collection development meetings and workshops.

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |