University Library Collection Development

Weeding Policy

The University of Texas at El Paso University Library weeding policy outlines the process for removing library materials that are no longer considered useful, relevant, or are rarely used. A collection with outdated and irrelevant materials can hinder users' ability to find the information they need. Additionally, as the curriculum of UTEP evolves, the library collection needs to adapt to support those changes.

Collection Assessment

The University Library faculty will continually assess the library collection to identify materials for weeding. This assessment will consider several factors, including:

• Relevance to the curriculum: Materials that are no longer relevant to current academic programs or research areas.
• Usage statistics: Materials with low circulation or download rates.
• Availability of alternative formats: If a resource is available in a more accessible format, such as online, the print version.
• Physical condition: Materials that are damaged or deteriorating beyond repair.
• Currency of information: Materials containing outdated information, especially in fields where information is rapidly changing.

Weeding Procedures

Weeding decisions will be made by a committee of librarians with expertise in various subject areas. Materials selected for weeding will be removed from the collection.

Weeding Schedule

The University Library will conduct a comprehensive review of the collection on a regular basis, with more frequent weeding occurring in rapidly changing subject areas.

This policy ensures that the University Library collection remains current, relevant, and useful to students, faculty, and staff.

Weeding Criteria

The University Library will employ the following criteria in determining which materials to weed:

Content-Based Criteria

• Relevance to the curriculum and research: Materials that no longer support current academic programs or research needs.
• Currency of information: Outdated information, especially in rapidly changing fields.
• Accuracy and reliability: Materials containing inaccurate or unreliable information.