Collection Development Policies: Educational Leadership

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY
Subject: EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP

Program Description

College of Education: The college of Education has as its mission the preparation of education professionals and the investigation of problems and opportunities associated with schools and other youth-serving agencies, especially those in Multicultural communities.

Educational Leadership and Foundations Program: This program offers a Masters of Arts in Education and an EdD in Educational Leadership and Administration.

Masters of Arts in Education: This degree program is designed for students who wish to pursue research and who wish to continue studies beyond the master's degree level.

EdD in Educational Leadership and Administration: The Doctor of Education (EdD) program in Educational Leadership and Administration offers its students opportunities to develop the added knowledge, skills, and experiences necessary for high-level leadership roles in contemporary and future leadership positions in educational settings.

In addition to these programs, the Educational Leadership and Foundations Department offers course work leading to certification by the Texas Education Agency in the following areas:

Description of Existing Collection
NCIP Code: 2b

Materials are classified in the following Library of Congress classification areas Ed. Research and Stat.; LB 2806.25, Teaching; LB1028+, Administration; LB2800, Early Childhood: LB1139.4, Elementary Ed.: LB2361+, Kindergarten; LB1180+, Preschool Ed; LB1140.4, Primary Ed; LB1523, Secondary Ed; LB1628+, Voc. Ed.; LC1048.c87, Education Law; KF4118+, Education of Mexican Americans; LC2680+, Finance; LB2824 - LB2830, Educational Evaluation; LB2822.75, Special Education; LC3950+, Personnel Management; LB2800, Theories of Learning; LB1060, History of education; LA21, Philosophy of ed.; LB885, Multicultural ed.; LB1025+, Ethics; LB1779, Border Studies; F787+.

The monograph collection seems fairly balanced. It contains a good amount of materials dealing with basic concepts and theories of educational leadership and administration. Some of the current themes are represented, such as re-structuring and fund raising. Some of the older, but recurring themes, such as affirmative action and open access, are also included. Many of the books are old and a bit outdated. The collection also contains many multiple copies of old textbooks, that seem to be padding rather than strengthening the collection. These should probably be weeded. The lacunae include works by current leaders in the area of educational leadership, works on current issues, and basic readers.

Out of 149 entries found under the subject heading EDUCATION--PERIODICALS, only 36 were found to have current subscriptions. The collection will be analyzed for relevance and completeness.

The primary electronic resource in this field is the ERIC Bibliographic education database. It corresponds to print CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education) and RIE (Resources in Education). Access is through the UTEP Library LAN.

Most of the reference materials are outdated and need to be replaced with more current sources. The current collection of reference materials is being weeded.

Current Collecting Intensity
NICP Code: 2b

Currently the facutly and librarians are selecting new materials for educational leadership. Weeded volumes are being replaced by both new and retrospective materials.

Desired collection level
NCIP Code: 3c

This level is needed to support the study and research interests of masters and doctoral level students, as well as research interests of the faculty.

Last updated: March 26, 2005