Collection Development Policies: Social Work

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY
Subject: Social Work

Program Description

The social work program prepares students for beginning generalist professional social work practice with individuals, families, groups, communities, and organizations from an ethnocultural perspective.  Provides beginning generalist social workers with cultural competence for practice with the bi-national, multicultural populations of the El Paso/Juarez border region with particular emphasis on Hispanics, Mexican Americans, and persons of Mexican descent.  Students will be prepared to meet the needs of social service agencies in Southwest Texas, El Paso, and Ciudad Juarez, Mexico.  In addition, students will be prepared to seek graduate education in social work.

Upon completion of the program and all requirements for graduation, the student is eligible to test for licensure from the Texas State Board of Social Worker Examiners as a Licensed Social Worker (LSW).

Description of Existing Collection
NCIP Code: Monographs 3b; Journals 2b

Materials are located using the Library of Congress call numbers:

HM 131; HN 17; HN18; HN57; HN 59.2; HV 1-5999

The general monograph collection is current and also contains major retrospective works in the field.  Titles in the business, sociology, psychology and health collection areas support the social work program.  The video collection contains a number of tapes appropriate to social work and additional titles are ordered annually.

The Reference and Document collections contain materials from government agencies important to social work practice and research.  Current statistical references are available for work in social problems, policy, and administration.

The journal collection supports the social work department.  The collection is reviewed by the faculty and recommendations for purchase are reviewed and acquired by the library.

Current Collecting Intensity
NCIP Code: 2.5

Currently the collection is being developed for undergraduates and faculty.  New titles are received through faculty and librarian requests and the approval plan. 

Interest is on domestic and international social work, the border region, and social work practices.  Films on social work, social work practices, and related topics are purchased regularly. Research material for the faculty is also searched and obtained.

Desired Collection Level
NCIP Code: 3

The library will continue to develop the monograph, journal and video collection to support the curricular and research needs of the faculty and students. 

Other Resources

Locally, the Texas Tech Health Sciences Center Delia Montes-Gallo Library of the Health Sciences in El Paso supplements the University of Texas at El Paso collection with medical texts and journals not being purchased by the university.  Other libraries available to the students and faculty are the El Paso Community College, the El Paso Public Library, New Mexico State University and the medical library of the Universidad Autonoma de Ciudad Juarez.

The Interlibrary Loan Department of the Library provides material not available in the area.

The library is a charter member of the Del Norte Biosciences Library Consortium which meets regularly to dialog.

Last updated:   July 2, 2007