Collection Development Policies: Computer Science

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY
Subject: Computer Science

Program Description

The undergraduate computer science program provides a strong base in programming skills, problem solving, theoretical understanding of computer science, and practical experience in applying the computer to the solution of problems. The graduate program offers a Master of Science with a major in Computer Science and participates with the Electrical Engineering Department in the Ph.D. program in Computer Engineering. Courses of study include database theory, artificial intelligence, software engineering, theory of computation, algorithms, computer systems and computing applications. The faculty and students work on many research projects jointly which include such topics as: knowledge representation, reasoning, mobile robots, software engineering, high-level language design, multi-media, object oriented databases, concurrent computing, Real-Time computing, Kolomogorov and computational complexity, cryptography, intelligent control, interval computations, and neural networks.

Description of Existing Collection
NCIP Code: 2b

Materials are located in Library of Congress classification areas: Q 350-385, QA 71-77, 273-939. Through our ACM membership we receive 16 journals, through our IEEE membership we receive 150 journals on computer science and 21 regular subscriptions. We have approximately 15,000 books relating computer science most of which have been published in the last ten years. Due to the changing nature of computer science it is essential that we acquire the latest material published. Computer Science books are often published in paperback and to facilitate their timely access we send them directly to the shelf and do not bind them first.

Indexes: We have Computing Review, Mathematics Review, Zentralblatt fur Mathematik und Ihre Grenzaebiete, ACM Guide to Computing Literature, IEEE Proceedings, Science Citation Index, and Computer and Control Abstracts in paper and the students and faculty have access to IEEE Xplore, INSPEC (EBSCO) and ISI Web of Science.

Current Collecting Intensity
NCIP Code: 3a

Current collecting is focused on acquiring new and peer reviewed research materials, proceedings and texts for graduate and undergraduate research. New journals, print and/or online, and databases are acquired whenever possible. 

Desired Collection Level
NCIP Code: 4

We need to collect more "Lecture Notes in Computer Science", journals, and “artificial/human intelligence” research works to support the Ph.D. program.