Collection Development Policies: Educational Psychology

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY
Subject: EDUCATIONAL PSYCHOLOGY

Program Description

The college of Education has as its mission the preparation of education professionals and the investigation of problems and opportunities associated wiith schools and other youth-serving agencies, especially those in multicultural communities.

Educational Psychology and Special Services. This department offers two masters degrees: Master of Arts in Education and Master of Education. The Master of Arts in Education degree is designed for students who wish to pursue research and to continue studies beyond the master's degree level. The Master of Education is designed for the professional who wishes to prepare for specialized professional practice as a school or community counselor, educational diagnostician, or special educator.

In addition to these degree programs, the Department offers course work leading to School Counselor and Educational Diagnostician certification by the TEA.

Description of Existing Collection
NCIP Code: 2b

Materials are classified in the Library of Congress classification areas Appraisal and Assessment

Educational evaluation: LB2822.75; Learning and learning ability: LB1060+; Testing, educational: LB 3050+; Bilingual ed.: LC 3701+; Slow learning children, ed. of: LC 4661+; Slow learning youth, ed. of: LC 4661 - 4700.4; Learning disabled students, ed. of: LC 4818+; Exceptional children, ed. of: LC 3950; Teaching students with autism; Student guidance and counseling: LB 1620.5+; Human growth and development; Life style and career development; School counseling; Group counseling; Marriage and family counseling; Abnormal human behavior; Substance abuse; Educational research and statistics;

Special education; and Severely emotionally disturbed.

Materials are adequate to support advanced undergraduate work. These are not adequate to support master's degree programs. The collection is particularly strong in topics dealing with Educational Testing, Bilingual Education and teaching of exceptional children. It is farely balanced, but could use some weeding and updating.

Current Collecting Intensity
NCIP Code: 2b

Currently the faculty and librarians are selecting new materials for educational psychology. Special emphasis is placed on purchasing both retrospective and current materials in appraisal, assessment, and learning disabled students.

Desired Collection Level
NCIP Code 3c (Advanced Study or Instructional Support Level)

This level should provide resources adequate for imparting and maintaining knowledge about the primary topics of the subject area. It should also contain the seminal works and journals on the primary and secondary topics in the field. This level of collecting should be able to support master's degree level programs as well as professional certification programs. It can do so by providing retrospective materials and works that provide in-depth coverage of research, techniques and evaluation. The collection would also have to be more up-to-date and include works were current gaps exist.

Other Resources

The University Library also provides access to electronic indexing and abstracting resources. ERIC and Psycinfo are primary sources for the field of educational psychology. ERIC is a bibliographic database for the field of education and corresponds to the printed index CIJE (Current Index to Journal in Education) and RIE (Resources in Education). It is available on the Library LAN and through the campus network. Psycinfo is a bibliographic database for psychology. It corresponds to the printed Psychological Abstracts. It is also available through the Library LAN and the campus network.

Last updated:  March 26, 2003