Collection Development Policies: Reference

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY
Subject: REFERENCE

Program Description

NA

Description of Existing Collection
NCIP Code: 2a (Overall), 2b (Nursing), 3 (Economics, Finance), 3a ( Physical Sciences), 3b (Biology, Geology), 3b (Engineering)

The Library Reference Collection follows the ALA Glossary(1988) definition: a "collection of reference books and other materials...useful for supplying authoritative information or identifying sources, kept together for convenience in providing information service, and generally not allowed to circulate." Much of the material consists of the traditional reference tools: indexes, abstracts, dictionaries, encyclopedias (general & specialized), almanacs, yearbooks, loose-leaf services, catalogs, directories, subject bibliographies. The Library's substantial collection electronic indexes, directories and other computerized sources of information are also housed in the Collection. Both general and specialized reference works are in English with few exceptions.

The Collection mirrors the all inclusive nature of the overall Library collections, with material in all areas of the humanities and sciences. Focuses of the collection reflect the emphasis placed in particular fields of study and research in the University. These include business, accounting, education, engineering and the physical sciences.

Items in the Collection are continually evaluated.   

Weeded materials are shifted to the Main Stacks or discarded.

Current Collection Intensity
NCIP Code: 2a (Overall), 2b (Nursing), 3 (Economics, Finance), 3a ( Physical Sciences), 3b (Biology, Geology), 3b (Engineering)

Responsibility for the selection of Reference materials belongs to the Reference Department Head. He or she relies on the various subject specialists in the Library for suggestions and recommendations in their appropriate area of subject expertise. Faculty recommendations are also reviewed for consideration. Regular use is made of the typical reviewing tools in the field : Choice, Library Journal, College and Research Libraries, etc. Publisher's leaflets, catalogs and traditional reference book bibliographies and guides(e.g. Guide to Reference Books) are also used. Duplication of material is avoided unless justified for a specific item.  Emphasis is placed on electronic access, with electronic abstracting & indexing services purchased as remote access or CD-ROM products.  Reference materials are collected at greater depth in the subject areas supporting graduate study.

Future Collection Level:
NCIP Code: 2b (Overall), 3a (Nursing), 3a (Education), 3 (Economics, Finance), 3a ( Physical Sciences), 3 (Marketing , Management), 3b (Biology, Geology), 3b (Engineering)

In order to raise the Collection to a NCIP 2b level, more standard reference works need to be purchased with greater frequency and depth than is currently being done. Materials which support graduate school study and research should be acquired at a minimum NCIP level of 3a. Electronic materials will be given serious consideration as supplements or replacements for current print resources.

Last updated: 3/20/03