Collection Development Policies: Kinesiology and Sports Studies

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY
Subject: KINESIOLOGY AND SPORTS STUDIES

Program Description:

The Kinesiology and Sports Studies undergraduate program requires the General Education Core, nine hours of upper division electives, an eighteen hour minor, and forty two to forty five hours of kinesiology courses. Students seeking a teaching certificate must take the Sports Studies tract and the education minor. Students aspiring toward a graduate degree should select the Health Fitness tract. Students interested in the sports related administrative offices should take Sports Administration tract. Students with a bachelor's degree in another field or who are pursuing a Bachelor of Interdisciplinary Studies degree with a specialty in Kinesiology and Sports Studies should refer to the College of Education.

A Master of Science in Kinesiology is also available for those wishing to increase their preparation as physical educators, to complete a masters in preparation for a doctoral program, concentrate in the sport science area, and to prepare for any profession dealing with human movement and physical activity.

Description of Existing Collection
NCIP Code: 2

Materials are located in Library of Congress call number areas: BF737, GV300-700, KF3989, QP82, QP301-383, RC700-1235. The "Selected List of Books and Journals in Allied health Sciences" by the late Alfred N. Brandon and Dorothy R. Hill, 1994\1995, which appeared in the Bulletin of the Medical Library Association, vol. 82, No. 3, July 1994, pp247-264 and the "Selected List of Books and Journals for the Small Medical Library," 1995-1996 edition, by the same authors that appeared in the Bulletin of the Medical Library Association, Vol. 83, No.2, April 1995 were checked for the holdings of the library.

The categories checked in the allied health list are: Anatomy and Physiology, of which the library has 2 of the 13 titles. None of the titles listed under Athletic Trainer are owned. Three of the major dictionaries listed under Dictionaries and Directories are owned. The categories in the small medical library list are: Anatomy, of which the library has 4 of the 10 titles and 5 of the 10 titles listed under, Dictionaries and Directories. For the topic Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, the library has 2 of the 5 titles. Under Sports Medicine, the library has 8 of the 11 titles given. The section on the Cardiovascular system was also checked to address the course on Coronary Intervention Programs.

There is not a specialized listing of recommended titles for kinesiology. However, some material required for the specialty is found under physical education. The Physical Education Index is dedicated to journal literature.

Also used was the Medical and Health Care Books and Serials in Print, 1996, vol. 1, New Providence, R.R. Bowker, 1996. The subject headings used from that source were Exercise Therapy and Kinesiology. The books on this list are not rated and list only titles currently in print. Of the 52 titles listed under exercise therapy, the library has 7. Eight of the 35 titles under kinesiology. There are 7 titles which need to be updated from the two lists. Titles on various sports are not on any of the lists. They comprise a part of the collection dedicated to the physical education activity.

Not shown on any list are the various government documents, both federal and state, which include kinesiology are not in the Library of Congress call numbers since they have their unique classification system.

The library subscribes to one of the two titles under Sports Medicine and none under Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. The two which are listed were canceled by the library. The Journal of Athletic Training , in the allied health list is not in the collection.

Serial indices which include kinesiology are the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health In Literature, Index Medicus, Current Index to Journals in Education, Education Index, and the index to Physical Education along with their respective on-line counterparts, ERIC, MEDLINE, and CINAHL. The library also has the CD-Rom Sports Disk.

Current Collecting Intensity
NCIP Code: 1

The material selected supports the undergraduate program and the graduate program. Current and retrospective material is sought to satisfy the needs of the students and faculty in kinesiology. Research material for the faculty and graduate students is also searched and obtained. Most of the selections are in the English language.

Desired Collection Level
NCIP Code: 2

The library needs to purchase the basic and advanced journals in kinesiology and sports. It also need to consider the purchase of current monographs in the discipline.

Other Resources

The Interlibrary Loan Department of the Library provides material not available in the area. In addition, local medical collections supplement faculty and student research. Texas Tech School of Medicine Library branch in El Paso is available to the nursing faculty and students. Other libraries available to the faculty and students are the El Paso Community College Rio Grande Campus, which has a nursing collection to support their Associate Degree Nursing Program, the medical library at Providence Hospital, the El Paso Public Library, the medical library of the Universidad Autonoma de Ciudad Juarez in Juarez, Chihuahua, and the libraries at New Mexico State University in Las Cruces, New Mexico, which also offers a degree in nursing.

Last updated: 3/20/03