Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Upward Bound- History: How to Get the Full Text

Helpful Video Tutorials

Click on the following links to view a short tutorial on each topic. For flash-free mobile and Apple devices click on

Introduction to Online Databases  (2:00)  

Search Strategies for  Finding Articles  (3:50)  

Finding Full-Text Articles  (2:46)  

The Different Types of Articles (Magazines, Journals and Newspapers)  (4:40)  

Scholarly Articles  (3:09)

 

    How to Get the Full Text

    • When you want the full-text (an entire copy) of an article, you must look for a PDF link.
    • Notice that the first item in the list is available in full-text, as indicated by the PDF link inside the star
    • Not all articles are available in full-text
      • Notice the second article in the list below; there is no PDF icon

    • Just because you can't find a PDF link for an article doesn't mean you should give up
    • Check to see if it's available in another database by clicking the link next to the UTEP icon, pictured above inside the rectangle

    • Pictured above is the WebBridge
      • It searches UTEP's other databases to see if the article is available in full text elsewhere.
      • In this case, the article is available in either of the two databases (inside the rectangles
    • Click the link to either database to be taken to the article there

    Librarian

    Angela Lucero's picture
    Angela Lucero
    Contact:
    Email: ajmartinez5@utep.edu

    Office: Library 214

    915-747-5685

    Ask a Librarian

    Have a question? Click on the icon above and Ask Us!

    500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
    Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
    State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |