UTEP Library Research Guides: COMM 4371- Communication Law & Society: Quick Library How To Videos

Library Tutorials

Library Catalog & Evaluating Sources
Once the session begins, we will cover the library catalog in terms of finding electronic books, and streaming media, such as videos and audio. Additionally, we will cover how to evaluate the sources you find online.
more...less...
This is a personalized session for CHIC 4350.

The videos provided here are the top picks I recommend to online students from the UTEP Library's YouTube Channel. You may find more videos to help you navigate the library homepage, databases, and more on the UTEP Library's YouTube Channel.

Introduction to Using the UTEP Library
This is an introduction on how to use the UTEP Library. Some of the most frequently asked questions are answered, such as, "Can all the items in the library be checked out?"
Search Strategies for Finding Articles
This video helps you think of ways to break down your topic of research. It explains Boolean Operators, gives recommendations on how to break down your topic and shows you how to enter them into the Academic Search Complete database.
How to Search the Library's Catalog
This video takes you through the library catalog to find printed books, government documents, videos, and electronic materials, via the Format limiter. A basic and advanced search is covered. Encore is another name for the library catalog.
Introduction to Online Databases
This video takes you through how to get to the databases, by name or subject of the database. This video is very basic and only takes you through on how to get to the database.
more...less...
Direct links to databases I recommend for your research is on the Databases tab of this research guide.
Library Catalog & Electronic Books
This video takes you through the library catalog to find printed books, government documents, videos, and electronic materials, via the Format limiter. This video takes you through electronic books.
Google Scholar
This video takes you through how to search Google Scholar to find articles more specific. It also takes you through how to update your settings to connect to the UTEP Library. This way more articles are available to you from what UTEP pays for as you search in Google Scholar.
Streaming Videos
This video takes you through how to find various streaming videos through the library databases.
Intellectual Property
This video takes you through the basic information of intellectual property or copyright.
Bibliographic Citations
This video will review what a bibliographic citation is, where to find citation guides online, and how to locate the information to write you bibliographic citation in books, the library catalog and databases.

Storify Tutorials

Storify Tutorial

Storify allows you to create your own story, allowing you to easily collect tweets, photos, videos and other media.

There are several tutorials on YouTube on using Storify.

Tutorial on Moodle

Moodle Tutorial

Where can students get help with Moodle?

Resources for students are available in different ways:

Video (see link below)
Printable format (handout)
Scheduled face-to-face trainings on campus through the Technology Support Center
Walk-in support also in the Technology Support Center

Video and printable resources are also available inside Moodle, under the Student Resources link in the top menu.

The on-campus Moodle trainings will be available prior the start of Summer I and II semesters. These will be housed at the Library, room 336, where the Technology Support Center (Help Desk) is located. Below are the dates for Student Moodle training, which will be communicated to students via email, and throughout campus:

June 29 and July 1: 10:00-11:00 AM, Library Room 336