Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask a Librarian
Have a question? Click on the icon above and Ask Us!
Reference sources are useful to learn more about a topic. Reference sources include: encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, directories, bibliographic sources, handbooks, manuals, and statistical abstracts. Criminal justice encyclopedias and dictionaries describe the specialized language and history of the field in greater detail than general encyclopedias. The majority of print reference materials are located on the fourth floor of the library in the reference shelves and cannot be checked out.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
Provides full text online access to a multidisciplinary social issues and controversies book series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints. Publications indexed include pro and con viewpoint articles; reference articles that provide context; full text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles; primary source documents; government and organizational statistics; multimedia, including images and podcasts; links to hand-selected web sites; and more. Features Lexile reading levels for periodicals as well as an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to high school and middle school social studies and science standards.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database that provides access to a large and varied collection of electronic reference books published by Gale.
Search your broad topic and find encyclopedia articles from Gale!!!