UTEP Library Research Guides: Brazilian Studies: Find Databases

Getting full text article

How to find specific articles

Video Streaming

Kanopy
Provides access to an evolving group of digital streaming videos selected and licensed from the entire Kanopy collection of documentary and feature films produced by a wide range of major and independent movie studios. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes the arts and humanities, education, communication and mass media, business and professional training, global studies and languages, science and technology, health, the social sciences, and much more.
Films on Demand
State-of-the-art streaming video platform produced by the Films Media Group (FMG), composed of Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware. Streaming video content, ranging from clips to complete documentary films, may be incorporated into content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic library card catalog systems. Several titles include closed captioning. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, archival films and newsreels, and much more. Updates vary by title with new content added annually.

Core Journals

Luso-Brazilian Review publishes interdisciplinary scholarship on Portuguese, Brazilian, and Lusophone African cultures, with special emphasis on scholarly works in literature, history, and the social sciences.

Portuguese Studies published by the Department of Portuguese at King's College, U.K. Devoted to multidisciplinary research on the cultures, societies, and history of the Lusophone world.

Journal of Lusophone Studies Online academic journal of the American Portuguese Studies Association. Articles on the languages, peoples and cultures of Portuguese-speaking countries and diasporas.

Remate de Males Online published by the Departamento de Teoria Literária do Instituto de Estudos da Linguagem at UNICAMP. Publishes articles, reviews, interviews and other relevant material to literary studies.

Revista de Historia da Biblioteca Nacional History magazine published by Brazil's National Library (Online Archive)

Revista Brasileira de Historia History magazine published by the Associação Nacional de História (Online Archive)

Hispania: Includes articles on pedagogy, literature, linguistics and technology-assisted language instruction related to the Hispanic and Luso-Brazilian workds.

Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h
Cambridge Core: The Home of Academic Content This link opens in a new window
Provides full text online access to the complete, 250-plus volume Cambridge Histories reference series. Subject coverage ranges from political, economic and social history to histories of philosophy and literature. Includes the histories of specific countries and selected topics. Materials indexed include reference books and book chapters. Coverage: All time periods - from Ancient to Modern.
https://www.cambridge.org/core
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.
https://www.jstor.org/action/showAdvancedSearch
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for literature concerned with the nature and use of language. Subject coverage includes phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics. Source publications include books, journal articles, conference proceedings, and reports.
https://search.proquest.com/llba?accountid=7121
MLA Directory of Periodicals (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America (MLA), this directory lists periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are regularly indexed in the MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO). Includes editorial addresses, advertising and subscription rates, frequency, publisher, scope, information about submissions for publication, and much more for each title listed.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=kah
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) for international scholarly research materials on language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Subject areas range from the arts, humanities, and education to the behavioral, social, economic, and political sciences. Materials indexed include journal articles, books, book chapters, working papers, and conference proceedings.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=mzh
Periodicals Archive Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full text/full image access to selected collections of scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. International subject coverage includes anthropology, black studies, business and management, economics, education, fine arts, geography, history, law, languages and literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, and women's studies.
https://search.proquest.com/pao?accountid=7121
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Subject coverage includes African Studies, Asian Studies, economics, education, film, theater, performing arts, history, Judaic Studies, language, literature, Latin American Studies, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and Women's Studies.
https://muse.jhu.edu/

Databases

CLASE
Bibliographic database maintained by the Universidad Nacional Autónmoma de México (UNAM) offering about 350 thousand bibliographic records of articles, essays, book reviews, literature reviews, short notes, editorials, biographies, interviews, statistics and other documents published in about 1500 journals from Latin America and the Caribbean, specializing in social sciences and humanities.
Latin Americanists Research Resource Portal LARRP
LARRP provides open electronic access to the tables of contents of journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean between the years 1994 and 2009. LAPTOC consists of 975 academic and research journals published in 29 countries in the region, including bibliographic references to more than 340,000 articles in the area's major languages.
Portal Latindex
A "portal of portals" to index and full text academic journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal designed and maintained by the Universidad Nacional Autónmoma de México.
Redalyc
Gathers journals from 15 Latin American countries, with over 550 titles and 16,000 articles available in PDF format, along with abstracts in Spanish and English, reference information and other metadata. With the support of la Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México, Redalyc offers its material for free to download under a Creative Commons license.
SciELO
SciELO is a bibliographic database of open access journals and a model for cooperative electronic publishing in developing countries, originally from Brazil.
Directory of Open Access Journals
The DOAJ provides access to over 2,500 scientific and scholarly journals. The DOAJ covers free, full-text, peer-reviewed journals from many disciplines and in many different languages.

Hathi Trust

Hathi Trust
Hathi Trust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.