Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The mission of Itaú cultural is to create knowledge about the arts in Brazil; to understand the country’s cultural practices, and provide access to culture and promote social participation. Itaú cultural also produced an encyclopedia that serves as a virtual reference service, bringing together information on visual arts, art and technology, literature, theater, cinema, dance, and music produced in Brazil.
Biographical and Bibliographical summaries of Brazilian writers and 1500+ short stories, poems and essays available. In Portuguese.
Online Radio, Television and News
Academia Brasileira de Letras
The Academia Brasileira de Letras (ABL) is a cultural institution inaugurated in 1897 and its objective is to cultivate and promote the national language and literature. This site provides access to the different programs that are part of the ABL, as well as to its publications (some of which are available online).
Biblioteca Brasiliana Guita e José Mindlin
Brasiliana Collection housed by the Universidade de São Paulo. More than 3K titles on different subjects about Brazil can be accessed online.
Biblioteca Digital Camões
Hosted by the Instituto Camões, this virtual library offers a selection of digital texts grouped by subject or author. Includes literature, literary criticism and linguistics materials. The texts can be downloaded in pdf format.
Biblioteca Digital Luso-Brasileira
Portal for digital collections of the National Libraries of Brazil and Portugal
Biblioteca Digital National Brasil
The National Digital Library of Brazil.
Biblioteca Virtual de Literatura
The biblioteca only makes available complete works, in Portuguese and whose author died more than 70 years ago, as determined by the Public Domain Law [Brazil].
Large digitization project that seeks to preserve and provide wider access to historic documents pertaining to Brazilian history and literature. Contains books, journals, newspapers, images, and original manuscripts.
Brazilian Government Documents
Digitized executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil’s national government between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available for each province to the end of the first Republic in 1930.
Cordel: Literatura popular em verso
Collection of digitized works of literatura de cordel from Fundação Casa Rui Barbosa.
Corpus informatizado do Portugues Medieval
Provides Sources on the investigation of Medieval Portuguese under the responsibility of a Research Line 1 team at the Linguistics Center of the Universidade Nova de Lisboa aims at the constitution and availability of a computerized corpus, CIPM, and linguistic studies for the constitution of a Grammar, as well as like a dictionary.
The Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) is affiliated with the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS) at the University of Texas at Austin.
A project of the Federal University of Santa Catarina (UFSC). "About the Library of Portuguese Language Literatures: Our Digital Library is one of the few in Brazil that is a primary and free source of literary texts in full version on the internet. These are works from Brazil and Portugal, from the best editions available.
Portal Dominio Público: Biblioteca Digital Desenvolvida em Software Livre
An online archive, provides access to 500+ works in Portuguese. The archive includes material like audio recordings, video, images and text.
Scielo: The Scientific Electronic Library Online
SciELO is an electronic library covering a selected collection of Brazilian scientific journals.
The United States and Brazil: Expanding Frontiers, Comparing Cultures.
Explores the history of Brazil, interactions between Brazil and the United States from the eighteenth century to the present, and the parallels and contrasts between Brazilian and American culture and history. The project is a collaboration between the Library of Congress and the National Library of Brazil.
CPLP: The community of Portuguese Language Countries
AATP: American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese
BRASA: Brazilian Studies Association