The UTEP Library has over a million books and more than 300 databases. Here are a few places to start, but you should explore other sources on your own or with a librarian, who will be glad to help you.
The Library catalog, for books, e-books, films, and other materials. Start your search in MinerQuest (library catalog).
Reference books. It's good to start with a specialized encyclopedia to get an overview of the topic and to gather key names and specialized vocabulary.
Online encyclopedias. Several databases are collections of specialized encyclopedias and reference works. Gale Virtual Reference Library, Cambridge Histories Online, and Oxford Reference Online are good databases to try.
The databases listed below are good for ancient and American history. Also search databases related to your topic. For example, if your topic is in education, search the education databases.
Read the bibliographies and footnotes of the most useful books and articles you find: they may lead you to further publications you can use.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature concerning the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Materials indexed include journal and magazine articles, books, book and media reviews, conference proceedings, and dissertations. Subject coverage beyond history includes culture, gender studies, psychology, literature, politics, and more. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full-text content based on institutional subscriptions.
Comprehensive bibliographic index to museum-quality fine art on the Internet derived from museum websites, image archives, and other online resources. Artistic media included are painting; sculpture; photography; the decorative arts; installation art; video, digital, and web-based art; nave, folk, and outsider art; and architecture. This database can be searched by movement, medium, subject, nationality, or artist name.
Digital image database of visual material encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures. Subject coverage includes the arts, architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and many other forms of visual culture. Designed to be used by art researchers and art historians. Registration is recommended in order to take advantage of all ARTstor features. UTEP faculty and library staff may request instructor privileges that will allow them to create folders to share image groups with students or colleagues.
https://library.artstor.org
NOTE: This database is funded in part by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Provides complete full text access to the Encyclopaedia Britannica as well as the following other resources: World Data Analyst, Gateway to the Classics, Year in Review, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Quotations, Britannica Concise Encyclopedia, World Atlas, Timelines, and more. Materials indexed include encyclopedia, newspaper, journal, and magazine articles; selected, rated, and reviewed Internet sites; illustrations, ranging from photographs and drawings to images, maps, and flags; and video and other media. Subject coverage is comprehensive and multidisciplinary.
Provides full text online access to the complete, 250-plus volume Cambridge Histories reference series. Subject coverage ranges from political, economic and social history to histories of philosophy and literature. Includes the histories of specific countries and selected topics. Materials indexed include reference books and book chapters. Coverage: All time periods - from Ancient to Modern.
Provides access to a large and varied collection of electronic reference books published by Gale. Publications indexed include dictionaries and encyclopedias. Subject coverage includes current events, health, business, science, art, history, humanities, biography and more. Full text access is based on institutional subscriptions.
https://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/txshracd2603?db=GVRL
NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.
Provides complete full-text access to a comprehensive collection of dictionary, language, and subject reference works, including the entire Oxford Companions series and the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations. Subject coverage includes art and architecture, biological sciences, business and economics, classical studies, computing, earth and environmental sciences, history, humanities, law, literature, medicine, folklore and mythology, performing arts, physical sciences and mathematics, politics and social science, as well as religion and philosophy. Includes both English language and bilingual dictionaries.
This link opens in a new window