A-Z Resource List: S

Full-text digital collection based on Joseph Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time and other major sources. Contains important and many hard-to-find primary source materials about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Publications include books, pamphlets, serials, and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, religious beliefs, society and culture, politics, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, and more.

Provides full text access to a current reference collection of online books pertaining to information technology (IT), published by O'Reilly Media, The Pearson Technology Group, and over 20 related imprints. Subject coverage includes certification, enterprise computing, Java, Linus/Unix, Web development, Windows, XML, and more. Coverage: Current three years (rolling forward).

Provides indexing, abstracting, and full-text content for the journals of SAGE Publications. Subject coverage includes the health sciences, life and biomedical sciences, materials science and engineering, social sciences, and humanities. Access to full-text is based on institutional subscriptions.

SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a fully-integrated online research methods tool designed to help researchers, faculty, and students with their research projects across multiple disciplines. Provides selected, full-text access to SAGE books, journals, and reference content.Users can explore research methods and concepts to help them design research projects, better understand particular research methods or identify new methods, conduct research, write up findings, and share their own collections of research content through the SRMO Lists feature. Other SRMO features such as the Methods Map offers users a visual representation of the inter-relationships and overlaps between the many different methods, theories, and techniques used in social research. The Methods Map can be used to locate a given research technique, theory, or method and its relationship to other approaches and as a way of reaching other relevant content from the books, journals, and reference resources that make up SRMO. Publications indexed include selected SAGE books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, the entire Little Green Book and Little Blue Book series, journal articles, and newly-commissioned videos.

Provides full-text online access to the Magill's Medical Guide series. Topics include: diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology and more.

Provides full-text online access to a range of history reference works published by Salem Press. Titles include: Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society, Great Events from History, and Great Lives from History.

Provides full-text online access to a range of literary reference works published by Salem Press. Titles include the full Critical Insights series, Critical Survey of Drama, Critical Survey of Graphic Novels, Critical Survey of Long Fiction, Critical Survey of Mystery & Detective Fiction, Critical Survey of Poetry, Critical Survey of Poetry, Critical Survey of Short Fiction, and Magill's Literary Annual.

Provides full-text online access to a range of history reference works published by Salem Press. Titles include: Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society and Forensic Science.

Provides full text access to a comprehensive collection of evidence-based reports and fact sheets in Spanish on all aspects of consumer health and wellness. Subject coverage includes overviews on various diseases, conditions, procedures, and treatments ranging from first aid and childhood illnesses to alternative medicine and aging.

Provides full-text access to the Sanford Guide Collection. Content includes antimicrobial, HIV/AIDS and viral hepatitis therapy, anti-infective drugs, prevention procedures, and tables and tools such as dosing calculators. Includes access to the Sanford Guide Mobile App for iOS, Andriod and Windows 10. Updated monthly. Only works with GlobalProtect VPN.

Preserves, organizes, and provides access to UTEP's Institutional Repository (IR) or online archive of research and scholarship of various types across all colleges, departments, and programs. Materials indexed include working papers, journal articles, conference papers, UTEP's dissertations and theses, photographic collections, and more. All items posted are full text or full image. Includes Faculty Selected Works.

Produced by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), this publisher's web site provides full-text online access to the following titles: Science Magazine (1880- present), Science Signaling (2008 - present), ScienceNOW (1996 - 2015), Science of Aging Knowledge Environment Archive (2001-2006), and all free content on the site. Coverage and updates vary by title. NOTE: This database is funded, in part, by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.

Science.gov is the official FirstGov for Science cross-agency portal that provides a gateway to a large body of authoritative, selected, scientific information developed by an interagency working group of science and technical organizations from federal government science agencies. Two major types of information are included: science-related web sites and often hard-to-access scientific databases (specific content varies by database). Subject coverage includes agriculture, natural resources, food and nutrition, applied science and technology, astronomy and space, science education, energy and energy conservation, health and medicine, biology, and the environment. Materials indexed include technical reports, journal articles, and conference proceedings.

Bibliographic index that contains citations for articles from leading journals relevant to science, technology, and related fields. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences, and materials science. This database is made possible by TexShare.

Provides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and complete full-text for Elsevier publications. Some items link to full-text content provided by other publishers or vendors. Access to full-text is based on institutional subscriptions. Subject coverage includes biology, chemistry, business, mathematics, engineering, environmental science, materials science, computer science, medicine, psychology, the social sciences, and physics.

NOTE: Registration with an active UTEP e-mail address ending in ".utep.edu" is required for new users. Returning users may access with login credentials set up during registration. Fully-integrated, comprehensive, web-based resource for chemical and related scientific information composed of four Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases. Chemical Abstracts Plus (CAplus) is a bibliographic index for international literature in general chemistry and related subject areas, including agriculture, biology, engineering, food science, geology, materials sciences, health science, physics, and polymer science. Publications indexed include journal articles, patents, patent families, technical disclosures and reports, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. CAS Registry provides information regarding chemical substances such as name, structure, and sequence; CASREACT includes information about chemical reactions; and CHEMCATS contains information about commercially available chemicals and their suppliers worldwide. Includes information about inventoried or regulated chemicals in key global markets. Provides access to MEDLINE for coverage of biomedicine. Coverage varies by title or database, ranging from 1778 - present overall (updated daily). For assistance with this resource, contact Robert Klapthor, Science Reference Librarian, at (915) 747-5040 or the UTEP Library Serials & Electronic Resources Team (SERT).

Fully-integrated online publishing platform for science and technology content that provides indexing, abstracting, and full text content for a wide range of scholarly publishers. Subject coverage includes physics, chemistry, geosciences, engineering, acoustics, and more. Publications indexed include journals, conference proceedings, electronic books (e-books), standards, patents, databases, and magazines. Access to indexed citations and abstracts is free and open to all; access to full text is based on institutional subscriptions.

Allows simultaneous searching and discovery across multiple ProQuest databases for global publications in science and technology subject areas, including the following collections: Advanced Technologies and Aerospace, Agricultural Science, Aquatic Science, Atmospheric Science, Biological Science, Computer Science, Earth Science, Engineering, Environmental Science, and Materials Science. Comprehensive subject coverage includes biology, fisheries and wildlife, education, geography, human and veterinary medicine, pharmacy and pharmacology, meteorology, public health and safety, water resources, conservation, forestry, civil and mechanical engineering, engineered materials, telecommunications, electronics, physics, and more. Publications indexed include scholarly journals, trade journals, conference papers and proceedings, blogs, podcasts and websites, books, dissertations and theses, figures, government and official publications, historical and contemporary newspapers, magazines, maps, technical reports, tables, wire feeds, working papers, video and audio, and other resources. Most citations include abstracts and some include full-text or link to full-text content, based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage and updates vary by collection, ranging from 1946 - present (overall). This database is made possible by TexShare.

Provides indexing, abstracting, and full-text content for publications of the Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG). Access to full-text content is based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage and updates vary by title. NOTE: UTEP's subscribed content includes Geophysics (1936 - present), The Leading Edge (1982 - present), and Interpretation (2012 - present).

Provides access to bibliographic information as well as pricing structures for a wide range of serials. Contains a broad selection of both U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from many publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses; as well as Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications for every entry. This database is made possible by TexShare.

Comprehensive bibliographic index for essential information concerning short stories written in or translated into English that were published in literary collections or anthologies as well as in selected periodicals. Practical resource for readers seeking short fiction by a particular author, for instructors looking for primary examples of a particular literary genre, or for researchers needing to examine the body of work of an author. This database is made possible by TexShare.

Provides indexing, abstracting, and full-text content for publications of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM). Access to full-text is based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage and updates vary by title, ranging from 1953 - present (overall). NOTE: UTEP's subscribed electronic journal (e-journal) content includes the SIAM Academic Membership Option D Package as well as the LOCUS Archival Back-Files.

NOTE: Access is limited to ten concurrent users. Off-campus access is available only via the GlobalProtect VPN.

Provides access to a wide variety of customizable market and advertising research reports on the Simmons OneView platform. Datasets are derived from the Simmons National Consumer Study (NCS) and the Simmons National Hispanic Consumer Study (NHCS). Survey samples are drawn from U.S. adult consumers and include all behavioral, psychographic, and media use measures. Segmentations include Mosaic, Health and Well-Being, Technology Adoption, Economic Outlook, Mobile Consumer, Food Lifestyle, Retail Shopping, Movie/TV Product Placement, and more. Dataset Coverage: Spring 2013 (updates vary). Academic datasets are two years behind commercial datasets. 

Provides access to an online comprehensive catalog of more than 3,000 courses, curated into 450 channels with different modalities. These self-paced courses offer UTEP employees a wide variety of training opportunities designed to enhance critical business, professional and IT skills. Choose from videos, books and audiobooks.  Users can earn digital badges that can be shared/linked to other apps such as Indeed and LinkedIn.  Employees may login using their SSO UTEP Credentials.

Provides full-text access to reference books and periodicals on small business and entrepreneurship as well as instructional videos and guides.

Provides full-text access to reference books and periodicals on small engine repair assistance including: ATVs, commercial mowers, farm tractors, generators, motorcycles, marine (boats), outdoor power equipment, personal watercraft/jet ski, snowblowers, snowmobiles, tillers and more. Includes instructional videos and guides.

The Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is composed of various specialized research networks in the social sciences. Topics covered by networks include accounting, economics, financial economics, english and american literature, marketing and management, philosophy, and more. The SSRN eLibrary provides free online access to abstracts of scholarly working papers as well a collection of full-text papers.

Bibliographic index for literature dealing with social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Materials indexed include journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full text articles, based on institutional subscriptions.

Provides indexing, abstracting, and full-text content for the publications of the Society of Economic Geologists (SEG). Access to full-text is based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage and updates vary by title. NOTE: UTEP's accessible content includes Economic Geology: Bulletin of the Society of Economic Geologists (2000 - present).

Bibliographic index for international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Source publications include book reviews, journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Provides full text/full image online access to the literature criticism book series Something About the Author, published by Gale. Includes the Something About the Author Autobiography Series and the complete back-file. Provides comprehensive information about the lives and works of authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults. Materials indexed include scholarly and popular analytical commentary in essay format derived from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books, and periodicals.

Provides indexing, abstracting, and full-text content for journals and conference proceedings published by the Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE).

Comprehensive bibliographic index for international research literature pertaining to sport, sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, physiology, training, coaching, physical education and exercise, physical fitness, and other related disciplines. Materials indexed include monographs, journals, dissertations, theses, magazines, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, audiovisuals, and more.

Provides indexing, abstracts, and links to some full text for scholarly and trade literature in the field of physical education. Subject coverage includes physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, sport sociology/psychology, health education, and physical therapy.

Provides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text for the publications of Springer-Verlag, Birkhuser Verlag, Brill Academic, and other selected publishers on the MetaPress platform. Access to full text is based on institutional subscriptions. Multidisciplinary subject coverage includes arts and humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, computer science, economics, education, electrical engineering, environmental science, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, medicine, philosophy, physics, psychology, and the social sciences.

Based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, this fully-integrated online platform provides access to a systematic and comprehensive collection of internationally selected and critically assessed data that covers all areas of the physical sciences and engineering. Publications indexed include original articles, literature references, and documents pertaining to REACH, GHS, RoHS, and WEEE. Subject coverage includes particles, nuclei and atoms; molecules and radicals; electronic structure and transport; magnetism; semi-conductivity; superconductivity; crystallography; thermodynamics; multiphase systems; advanced materials; advanced technologies; and astro- and geophysics.

SpringerProtocols provides full-text access to a comprehensive collection of authoritative, easily reproducible, step-by-step laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences compiled from HumanaΓÇÖs book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a wide range of laboratory handbooks such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals. Subject coverage includes biochemistry, bioinformatics, cancer research, genetics, genomics, imaging and radiology, immunology and infectious diseases, microbiology, molecular medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology, toxicology, plant sciences, and protein science.

Provides access to geopolitical analysis and custom intelligence insight derived from selected open-source information concerning global news and events for individuals, governments, and businesses worldwide. Subject coverage includes economics, finance, military, energy, politics, terrorism, and international security. Publications indexed include specialized reports, web sites, videos, graphics, maps, charts, and more. Includes free content such as Geopolitical Weekly, Security Weekly, and Other Voices.

Provides full-text access to industry-leading journals, magazines, books, trade publications and other valuable resources for the sustainability field. Topics include "green" issues and initiatives, renewable energy, conservation, sustainable business practices, corporate social responsibility and environmental stewardship. Full-text access to most content is available with additional indexing for the remaining titles.
This database is made possible by TexShare.

Provides selected, licensed access to an ever-expanding collection of theatrical release films in digital streaming format for educational purposes. Films are produced by a wide variety of major Hollywood and independent movie studios, including Paramount Pictures, Warner Brothers, Walt Disney Pictures, Sony Pictures, DreamWorks Pictures, New Line Cinema, MGM, Miramax, United Artists, and many more. Subject coverage includes literature, history, science, psychology, sociology, film studies, fine arts, foreign language, and more.

NOTE (UTEP Faculty): View the full catalog of videos available on Swank Digital Campus. For assistance with this resource or to submit title requests for your course, contact the UTEP Library Electronic Resources Team.