A-Z Resource List: H

Full-text multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography and culture, sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA) and distributed in partnership with the University of North Texas. Categories include people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and more.

Bibliographic index that contains citations to articles and book reviews published in scholarly journals from Latin America and the Caribbean as well as selected articles from international academic journals dealing with topics relating to Latin America, the Caribbean, Brazil, Mexico, and Hispanic Americans or Latinos. Most journals are peer-reviewed or refereed. Subject focus excludes the pure and technical sciences and focuses on the social sciences and humanities.

A full text/full image resource for examining nineteenth century American life from the Civil War Era to the Gilded Age through the pages of Harper's Weekly. Overall full text coverage is from 1857 to 1912.

Provides bibliographic indexing and selected full-text/full-image access to a large-scale shared repository of digital collections contributed by a growing partnership of major educational research institutions, libraries, and other stakeholders. Subject coverage is international and multidisciplinary in scope. Content is composed primarily of digitized books and journals derived from partner collections, ranging from in-copyright and public domain materials provided by Google, the Internet Archive, and Microsoft to various in-house partner institution initiatives. Access to full-text content is based on institutional licensing as well as copyright and other restrictions. Coverage: Circa 1500s to present (updates vary).

Comprehensive bibliographic indexing and abstracting database that provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, published by Behavioral Measurement Database Services. Materials indexed include journal articles, instruments from Industrial/Organizational Behavior and Education, questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques, and more.

Bibliographic index for literature derived from general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional journals, medical reference books, newsletters, and pamphlets. Subject coverage includes physical fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, pediatrics, public health, psychology, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, prescription and over-the-counter drugs, and more.

Comprehensive bibliographic index for consumer health information. Subject coverage includes AIDS, cancer, diabetes, cardiology, drugs and alcohol, aging, fitness, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, women's health, sports medicine, and more. Materials indexed include journals, consumer health periodicals, health-related pamphlets, health reference books, and Clinical Reference Systems reports. Includes Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.

Bibliographic index that focuses on many medical disciplines, but chiefly on nursing and allied health. Subject coverage includes mental health, pediatrics, psychiatry, community health, clinical nursing, nurse practitioners, diagnostics, ethics, and management. Materials indexed include journal articles from scholarly or peer-reviewed journals. Includes Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. This database is made possible by TexShare.

Provides bibliographic indexing as well as full-text/full image access to collections of historical international literature derived from legal periodicals, criminal justice journals, and other law-related publications. Materials indexed range from law journals published by organizations affiliated with the American Bar Association (ABA), the American Association of Law Libraries (AALL), and the American Association of Law Schools (AALS) to current and historical volumes of the Code of Federal Regulations, a full reprint of the English Reports (1220 to 1865), The Federal Register, and the Manual of Patent Examining Procedure. Included are official and unofficial treaty and agreement publications, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, U.S. Statutes at Large, and many other legal-related document libraries. Coverage and updates vary by collection and title, typically ranging from the earliest available issue to the most current allowed under contract. Full-text access is based on institutional subscriptions.

NOTE: Access is limited to one authorized user at a time via username and password. Contact the UTEP Library Serials & Electronic Resources Team (SERT) to request access credentials.

Provides access to the Herbal Medicines Compendium (HMC) monographs, published by the U.S. Pharmacopeial Convention (USP), that provide standards for herbal ingredients used in herbal medicines. 

Full text/full image collections of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Includes family and local history books as well as United States Census data from 1790-1930.

Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project at the University of Houston, this large and distinctive collection provides full text/full image access to Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Subject coverage includes every major theme in American history and culture including reported news events in Spanish-speaking countries not always available in traditional U.S. newspapers.

Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature concerning world history since 1450, excluding the United States and Canada. Materials indexed include journal and magazine articles, books, book and media reviews, conference proceedings, and dissertations. Subject coverage beyond history includes anthropology, genealogy, ethnic studies, political science, sociology, and more.

Provides full-text access to popular magazines and books on hobbies, crafts, and recreational activities as well as instructional videos and guides Coverage and updates vary by publication. This database is made possible by TexShare.

Provides full-text access to popular magazines and books on do-it-yourself home repair, maintance and remodeling as well as instructional videos, images, and guides. This database is made possible by TexShare.

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security Office of Grants and Training and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security (CHDS), the Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) provides full text access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations, and local and state agencies.

Comprehensive bibliographic index for international research in human genetics, including the Human Genome Project. Source publications include reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and monographs.

Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature dealing with the humanities. Materials indexed include feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more. Some citations from 1995 onward include full text or links to full text available from other providers, based on licensing restrictions or institutional subscriptions.

Provides indexing, abstracting, and access to full-text content for the publications of Human Kinetics, Inc. Subject coverage includes the physical activity and health fields with emphasis on recreational and organized sports. Access to full-text is based on licensed institutional subscriptions. Coverage and updates vary by title. NOTE: UTEP's subscribed journal content includes: Journal of Applied Biomechanics, Journal of Sport and Exercise Psychology, and Journal of Teaching in Physical Education.