UTEP Library Research Guides: Kinesiology 5361- Biomechanics: Databases

Database Tutorials

Click on the following links to view a short tutorial on each topic. For flash-free mobile and Apple devices click on

Introduction to Online Databases

Search Strategies for Finding Articles

Finding Full-Text Articles

Different Types of Aritcles

Scholarly Articles

How to Find a Specific Article

Introduction to PubMed

Introduction to Cochrane Library

Exporting References from PubMed to RefWorks

PEDro

PEDro ( a Physiotherapy Evidence Database) is a free database of over 21,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible.

PEDro

Databases

Access Physiotherapy
Provides access to a resource center for physical therapy students, educators, and those in practice seeking to maintain certification. Features textbooks, interactive imaging content, multimedia, and curriculum support tools. Includes information concerning modalities; videos and animations; a customizable an online cadaver dissection resource for the study of anatomy and physiology; a drug and medication database, and references to primary literature.

Below is a list of the databases most likely to aid your research and study of biomechanics. All are available to affiliates of UTEP.

Access Medicine from McGraw-Hill This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online access to a selected collection of authoritative clinical reference and medical education titles authored by leading medical professionals from around the world. Content includes images, illustrations, interactive self-assessment tools, case files, and diagnostic tools necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.
https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com

Anatomy.tv
provides access to three-dimensional models of the human body that can be rotated to adjust the view as well as detailed layers of human anatomy that can be stripped away for enhanced visualization. Includes interactive models of the head, neck, shoulder, hand, thorax, abdomen, spine, pelvis, perineum, hip, knee, foot, and more. Also included are common pathologies, radiological content, and interactive quizzes.
Biological Abstracts
Provides comprehensive indexing for international literature in the life sciences, including biology, agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, ecology, the environment, microbiology, neurology, pharmacology, public health, veterinary science, zoology, and toxicology. Materials indexed include journal articles, books, book chapters, patents, reviews, and conference proceedings.
CINAHL
An index for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare derived from English-language and selected international source materials. Materials indexed include journals, books, book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisuals, dissertations, educational software, conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, critical paths, and research instruments.
CSA Neurosciences Abstracts
An index for current and historical neuroscience research literature. Subject coverage includes all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research studies but also including information on neural diseases. Materials indexed include journal articles, conference proceedings, books, reports, and monographs.
Education Full-Text
Ergonomic Abstracts Online
Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for international literature pertaining to ergonomics and human factors. Materials indexed include books, reports, conference proceedings, and journals. Includes related material from subject areas such as psychology, physiology, biomechanics, job design, human-computer interaction, safety science, human engineering, medicine, occupational health, sport, and transport.
Physical Education Index
Provides indexing, abstracts, and links to some full text for scholarly and trade literature in the field of physical education. Subject coverage includes physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, sport sociology/psychology, health education, and physical therapy.
PsychINFO
Comprehensive bibliographic index that provides citations, abstracts, and some full text for international literature in the field of psychology drawn from source materials such as journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. Subject coverage includes the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
PubMed
Provides comprehensive coverage of international biomedical literature. Materials indexed include scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters.
ScienceDirect
Provides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and complete full text for Elsevier publications. Subject coverage includes biology, chemistry, business, mathematics, engineering, environmental science, materials science, computer science, medicine, psychology, the social sciences, and physics.
The Cochrane Library
A collection of evidence-based medicine databases, includes full text, systematic reviews of empirical studies, complete with graphs, figures, odds-ratio diagrams, and tables.

Kinesiology Search Tips

To use the databases successfully, you will need good keywords

Keywords: words that describe your topic

Use keywords individually or in combinations-- experiment to see what method gets you better results
Also remember to consider synonyms for your keywords-- other people may be using different words to describe the same idea or concept
Remember to use subject-appropriate databases

ex.- If your're researching reaction time in the elderly, you should look in a medical or scientific database-- NOT one that deals with education or business

Subject Guide

Kristin Perales

Email Me

Contact:

915-747-8939

Subjects: Health Science, Kinesiology, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Rehabilitation Counseling, Rehabilitation Sciences, Speech and Language Pathology

Use Library Resources from Anywhere

Researching from home, work, or anywhere else other than the UTEP Campus?

Click here to make remote access easier.

Ask a Librarian

Have a question? Click on the icon above and Ask Us!