Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Research: Music Reference Books

Guide to finding books, scholarly articles, and other materials for research in music.

Who needs reference books any more? Everything's online - right? Wrong!

Some things are still most easily found in reference books. Books - whether paper or electronic - provide basic information such as

§  definitions of words or musical concepts

§  biographical information on musicians

§  information about particular compositions

§  information about instruments

§  histories of musical styles and movements

§  bibliographies and discographies

§  lists of musical works

 

There are hundreds of reference books in the ML section of the Library's collection and among the e-books provided. They include dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, biographical works, bibliographies, discographies, and historical works. This is list is only a sample to show you the types of reference books available.

Books on Music

This is a small representative sample of books on music. In the library catalog, enter a search for a specific topic to find more focused results. If you need an encyclopedia, add "encyclopedia" to your search term. For example: opera encyclopedia

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |