Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key Sources for Online Music Research
Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online (OMO) is the access-point for Oxford music reference subscriptions and products, including Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. With OMO patrons can cross-search Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Articles from specialist dictionaries such as The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed., are available via OMO.
(Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) is the major source for bibliographic research in music. It has listings of articles in journals, as well as essays and chapters in books. The database allows keyword, subject, author, and title searching, and a full range of limiters is available to focus your search. There is a thesaurus, and you can email citations and full text to yourself easily. When you export a citation, you may choose the citation style you prefer (MLA, Chicago, etc.)
Welcome to the UTEP Library! This guide will help you find books, scholarly journal articles, and other materials for your research in Music. Click on the tabs above for specific information. Please contact me for individual assistance.
Key Sources for Listening to Music or Viewing Performances
These streaming audio and video databases provide critical and biographical information as well as recordings of music.
Naxos Music Library
Provides access to a comprehensive collection of classical music as well as selections from other genres, including jazz, blues, folk, new age, world music, and more. Includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo, and Da Capo catalogs plus selected titles from other labels. Most recordings are accompanied by printable scholarly notes written my musicologists. Updated monthly. NOTE: Computers in the UTEP Library's Collaborative Learning Center (CLC) are set up to play the music tracks; users will need to provide their own headphones and log out after every session. UTEP Music Faculty: Inquire about username and password needed to create play lists for your classes.
Naxos Video Library
Provides online access to an extensive digital streaming video library of full-length classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, theatre, and musical documentaries from around the world. Updates vary.
Dance in Video
Upon completion, Dance in Video will provide online access to around 500 hours of streaming video dance productions and documentaries produced by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Other material types will include editorials, general reference films, instructional videos, interviews, and performances.