It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music Research: Music Databases & E-Journals
Guide to finding books, scholarly articles, and other materials for research in music.
Bibliographic index to individual pieces of music printed in standard scholarly editions. Citations include composers, formats, genres, librettists, performing forces (medium), and poets. A separate collection authority link makes it possible to search for titles of music collections, as well as individual compositions.
NOTE: Access to this database is limited to five simultaneous users.
Provides indexing and abstracts for international music and performing arts periodicals, plus complete full text articles for many scholarly journals. Subject coverage includes a variety of topics in the field of music including performance, theory and composition, music education, jazz, and ethnomusicology.
Provides access to a comprehensive collection of classical music as well as selections from other genres, including jazz, blues, folk, new age, world music, and more. Includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo, and Da Capo catalogs plus selected titles from other labels. Most recordings are accompanied by printable scholarly notes written my musicologists. Limited to 10 concurrent users.
Integrated gateway that allows for the cross-searching of full text music reference publications from both Grove and Oxford, including: Grove Music Online, Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Oxford Companion to Music.
Provides complete full-text access to a comprehensive collection of dictionary, language, and subject reference works, including the entire Oxford Companions series and the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations. Subject coverage includes art and architecture, biological sciences, business and economics, classical studies, computing, earth and environmental sciences, history, humanities, law, literature, medicine, folklore and mythology, performing arts, physical sciences and mathematics, politics and social science, as well as religion and philosophy. Includes both English language and bilingual dictionaries.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for international music literature. Subject coverage includes acoustics, criticism, dance, dramatic arts, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, historical musicology, literature, music therapy, pedagogy, performance practice and notation, theory and analysis, visual arts, and many more. Materials indexed include scholarly journal articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, ethnographic recordings, Festschriften, films, iconographies, videos, concert reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals.
Comprehensive, annotated bibliographic index and guide to music manuscripts published by the Répertoire International des Sources Musicale (RISM) (International Inventory of Musical Sources). Includes documentation on existing music manuscripts or printed music, works on music theory, and libretti stored in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections throughout the world.