UTEP Library Research Guides: Creative Writing & English Graduate Research: Starting your Research @ UTEP

Research Tips & Tools

Search through these databases for theses and dissertations to see if you can find something similar to your research.

If you find an exact match to what you want to research, how can you pick up where they left off?
If you found something similar, how can you fill in the gaps they have?
If you can't find anything exact or similar, you may have found a research gap!

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDTGlobal) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic indexing for nearly all doctoral dissertations and Master's theses accepted at North American academic institutions. Selectively indexes dissertations and theses from academic institutions in Great Britain, Europe, and other countries around the globe. Dissertations published since July 1980 include abstracts written by the author. Theses published since 1988 include brief abstracts. All titles published since 1997 include 24-page previews and complete full text; selected full text is available for earlier dates.
https://search.proquest.com/pqdtglobal/advanced?accountid=7121

Can you build and run a successful advanced search in databases? Review the following guide to see what we recommend.

The Search Strategy
Graphic organizer to help students develop a word bank of keywords for their research.

Literature Review Research Guide
Working on reviewing your research? Start here!

Managing Your Research References
Use this guide to review different types of reference or citation managers. All managers listed here and below have support from a librarian by showing you how to use your preferred choice.
RefWorks
RefWorks is the only citation manager that UTEP subscribes to. The account is the student's to keep even after they leave the university.
Zotero
Free citation manager
Mendeley
Free citation manager
Endnote
Basic is free, but there is a cost if you need more.

The UTEP Library has a Scholarly Communication Team that can assist with your scholarly output. Please see their guide linked below for more info.

Measuring Academic Output Research Guide
There are a number of metrics (bibliometrics) you need to use as a researcher, such as publication counts, citation counts, h-index and journal impact factors. Use metrics to choose high quality authors and publications for your research and to identify high impact researchers for collaboration.

Contact:

University Library
Discovery Services
No appointments available? Email me @ jurbina4@utep.edu

Subjects: English and American Literature, English Education, Government Documents, Law, Library and Information Science, Library Student Training, Rhetoric and Composition