UTEP Library Research Guides: Creative Writing & English Graduate Research: Environmental + Social Justice in Technical Communication

Recommended Resources

MinerQuest Tigua OR Tiwa Search
Getting started with finding more about the Tigua Pueblo Tribe in El Paso, Texas.
Multi-EBSCO Databases Search
Selections of various EBSCO databases with a focus on environment + social justice
ProQuest Databases search
Repeated search from EBSCO in the ProQuest databases, but narrowed down with Tigua OR Tiwa

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for business literature worldwide, including management, marketing, management of information systems (MIS), production and operations management (POM), economics, finance, econometrics, accounting, international business, and other areas. Materials indexed include scholarly and peer-reviewed journals, books and book digests, newspapers, monographs, magazines, conference proceedings, case studies, reference works, industry reports, country economic reports, detailed company profiles and financial data, investment and market research reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, and more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=bth
Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for communication and mass media research literature derived from the merger of CommSearch, formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA), Mass Media Articles Index, formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University, and numerous other authoritative resources. Publications indexed include peer-reviewed journal articles, monographs, major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, conference proceedings, working papers, gray literature, and handbooks.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ufh
Compendex (Ei Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Fully-integrated content discovery platform that provides online access to Engineering Index (Compendex), a comprehensive bibliographic index for engineering, technical, and applied science literature derived from journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, and more. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full-text, based on institutional subscriptions.
NOTE: Provides access to two independently searchable online resources for patents: United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) full-text/full-image databases and esp@acenet for patents (some full-text) produced by national patent offices in Europe, the European Patent Office (EPO), the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), and Japan. Also provides access to IHS Standards as well as LexisNexis News.
https://www.engineeringvillage.com
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text/full image access to a broad collection of primary source materials dealing with the relationships among peoples and cultures in early North America. The collection presents unique perspectives from traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, officials, and others. It includes works by American Indians, Canadian First Peoples, and many European groups, capturing first impressions, observations of flora and fauna, descriptions of encounters with indigenous peoples, and new language elements as they evolved. Subject coverage includes American history, Canadian history, natural history, environmental studies, and American Indian and Native American studies. Materials indexed range from published and unpublished personal accounts derived from narratives, letters, diaries, memoirs, and journals to prints, drawings, paintings, photographs, bibliographies, original facsimile pages, and maps. Coverage: 1534 - 1860
https://eena.alexanderstreet.com
NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
ehp (Environmental Health Perspectives) Online This link opens in a new window
ehp (Environmental Health Perspectives) Online is a full text, peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the discussion of environmental effects on human health. It includes monthly sections regarding childrens health and environmental medicine, a toxicogenomics research section, and an annual review issue.
https://ehp.niehs.nih.gov
Environmental Engineering Abstracts (ProQuest - Subfile) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracts, and links to some full text for international literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production. Source publications include journals, books, technical reports, and conference proceedings. Subject coverage includes agricultural equipment and methods, hazardous materials, mines and quarry equipment, pipes and pipelines, wind power, treatment of sewage and industrial wastes, turbines, and water analysis and treatment techniques.
https://search.proquest.com/environmentalengabstracts/advanced?accountid=7121
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides content on Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, water privatization, ecotourism, green economy, and more. Includes case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more. Updated daily. The database is made possible by TexShare.
https://link.gale.com/apps/GRNR?u=txshracd2603
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
Coverage of more than 5.4 million articles from more than 300 journals and book reference content from Delmar, including Soil, Science, and Management; Introduction to Agronomy; Food, Crops, & Environment; Fundamental Soil Science; and more. The database is made possible by TexShare.
https://link.gale.com/apps/PPES?u=txshracd2603
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly, government, and general-interest information on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and local/national governments. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=8gh
Humanities Full Text - H.W. Wilson (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature dealing with the humanities. Materials indexed include feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more. Some citations from 1995 onward include full text or links to full text available from other providers, based on licensing restrictions or institutional subscriptions.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=hft
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.
https://www.jstor.org/action/showAdvancedSearch
MinerQuest This link opens in a new window
MinerQuest is the easiest way to search as many of the UTEP Library's databases + its catalog at once. Results will include articles of all types, books, e-books, government documents, streaming videos, and encyclopedia articles. A good all-purpose search tool.
https://utep.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01UTEP_INST:01UTEP
PAIS International (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues in the following areas: economics, business, health care, finance, law, international trade and relations, public administration, government, and political science. Materials indexed include selected journal articles, books, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, Internet resources, and microfiche.
https://search.proquest.com/pais/advanced?accountid=7121
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (1990-present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (1990-present). Includes a broad selection of prestigious, high impact, academic research journals as well as cited reference searching.
https://webofknowledge.com/wos
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracting, and full-text content for the journals of SAGE Publications. Subject coverage includes the health sciences, life and biomedical sciences, materials science and engineering, social sciences, and humanities. Access to full-text is based on institutional subscriptions.
https://journals.sagepub.com/
NOTE: UTEP's subscribed content includes the SAGE Premier All Access E-Journal Collection (Front-Files), the SAGE IMechE Collection, and the SAGE Deep Back-File E-Journal Package (2012). This database is funded, in part, by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and complete full-text for Elsevier publications. Some items link to full-text content provided by other publishers or vendors. Access to full-text is based on institutional subscriptions. Subject coverage includes biology, chemistry, business, mathematics, engineering, environmental science, materials science, computer science, medicine, psychology, the social sciences, and physics.
https://www.sciencedirect.com/

Local Research

ScholarWorks@UTEP: The University of Texas at El Paso This link opens in a new window
Preserves, organizes, and provides access to UTEP's Institutional Repository (IR) or online archive of research and scholarship of various types across all colleges, departments, and programs. Materials indexed include working papers, journal articles, conference papers, UTEP's dissertations and theses, photographic collections, and more. All items posted are full text or full image. Includes Faculty Selected Works.
https://scholarworks.utep.edu/
Portal to Texas History This link opens in a new window
Integrated content platform that provides full-text/full image access to a widely varied collection of historical materials concerning Texas, from prehistory through the twentieth century. Content focuses on primary sources, including digital reproductions of photographs, maps, letters, documents, books, artifacts, newspapers, audio and video recordings, and more. Collections are derived from the contributions of participating Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections. Includes Primary Source Adventures, My Texas History Notebook, and Texas History Snapshot curriculum materials that comply with Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) standards for classroom teaching.
https://texashistory.unt.edu/

El Paso History - UTEP Research Guide
A research guide created by the UTEP Library containing resources on the El Paso Border region history.

Online News Sources for Environmental Information

Earth Times
Earth Times is an independent international nonpartisan newspaper on the environment and sustainable development, including interrelated issues of population, human rights and trade.
EcoWatch
EcoWatch informs its audience with essential science-based news on a wide range of topics including climate change, energy, oceans, animals, food, politics and health.
Environmental News Network (ENN)
ENN's mission is to inform, educate, enable and create a platform for global environmental action. It is rapidly becoming a collection of resources, teachers, experts and tools that provide objective information and knowledge about the increasingly complex field of environmental science.
Environmental Health news
Environmental Health News is a publication of Environmental Health Sciences, a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to driving science into public discussion and policy on environmental health issues, including climate change.
The Guardian: Environment
Environmental news from the US edition of The Guardian, covering climate change, wildlife protection, energy issues, and pollution.
Inside Climate News
Inside Climate News is a Pulitzer Prize-winning, nonprofit, nonpartisan news organization that provides reporting and analysis on climate change, energy and the environment, for the public and for decision makers. It serves as a watchdog of government, industry and advocacy groups and holds them accountable for their policies and actions.

Open Access Databases

PubMed (NCBI-NLM) This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free service provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It provides indexing for bibliographic citations from MEDLINE (1966 - present), OLDMEDLINE (1950 - 1965), out-of-scope and publisher-supplied citations, in-process records, and selected other NLM-reviewed life science journal articles with full text in PubMedCentral. Provides comprehensive coverage of international biomedical literature. Materials indexed include scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. Many citations include abstracts and some include free full text or links to full text, based on institutional subscriptions.
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?otool=txutxelib

OER Commons - Social Justice
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources.
The Society Pages
Browse podcasts, articles, and blogs, and user generated community content related to crime, culture, gender, health, inequality, politics, and race.
"The Society Pages (TSP) is an open-access social science project headquartered in the Department of Sociology at the University of Minnesota and supported by individual donors and publishing partner W.W. Norton & Company, Inc."

OAPEN Library This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracting, and open-access full-text content for a selected collection of electronic books (e-books) and online journals from various scholarly publishers on the OAPEN Library platform. Content includes both front and backlist titles mainly in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage and updates vary by title. NOTE: UTEP's accessible content includes the following e-book collections: 1) KU Select Front List (2016) and 2) KU Select Backlist (2016). This resource is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
https://www.oapen.org

Directory of Open Access Books
Increases the discoverability of open access books by compiling records of freely available books from around the internet, and providing links to resources. This includes international textbooks in various languages.
Project Gutenberg
The place where you can download over 33,000 free ebooks, in the public domain, to read on your PC, iPad, Kindle, Sony Reader, iPhone, Android or other portable device.

Environmental Justice Resources

Social Justice Resources

Brennan Center for Justice
Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
Equal Justice Initiative
The Marshall Project
Pew Research Center - Criminal Justice
Southern Poverty Law Center
The Innocence Project
The Sentencing Project
Families Against Mandatory Minimums
PBS Frontline
Frontline is an award-winning investigative journalism source on news and current affairs. Videos can be sorted by topic, including many related to social justice, such as: social issues, criminal justice, war and conflict, etc.
North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA)
NACLA is an independent, nonprofit organization that shares news articles and other digital content to combat oppression and injustice in Latin America and the Caribbean.

U.S. Government Information

DOE Information Bridge, U.S. Department of Energy
Full text and bibliographic citations of DOE research reports. Subjects include biology, environmental sciences, renewable energy, and more. To enhance your search, open a citation from your results list and click on "More Like This" (under the title).
Energy and Environmental Policy | USDA
USA.gov's portal to a wide range of environmental topics such as natural resources, conservation, global warming, fuel efficiency, biotechnology, and more.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Sources by Subject page about resources produced by the EPA. Includes compliance, enforcement, databases, technical reports, and more.
Protected Areas Database of the U.S.
Online interactive map showing the official inventory of public parks and other protected open space in the US.. Downloadable by US or state, includes shapefiles.
U.S. Forest Service
The U.S. Forest Service is responsible for 193 million acres of forests and grasslands. Find information on research, recovery projects, climate change, news, and more.
U.S Fish and Wildlife Service
Publications and information on wildlife refuges, endangered species, environmental contaminants, and more from the department with a mission "to conserve, protect, and enhance fish, wildlife, plants, and their habitats for the continuing benefit of the American people."

Local + State Resources