Skip to main content

History 3390 - Deutsch

Research guide for students in History 3390: Jews in Latin America.

Chicago Manual of Style

Historians use The Chicago Manual of Style as a style guide.

Citing Archival Materials

Citations for archival materials are often institution-specific.  Please consult holding institutions, finding aids, or other guides for preferred citations.

Generally, for footnotes or end notes you cite archival materials in collections by the item, box number, folder number, collection name and number, and institution. 

Sometimes archival collections do not have box numbers or folder numbers.

Here are some examples:

Petition, The City of El Paso to the Texas Centennial Commission, MS419, C.L. Sonnichsen Special Collections Department, The University of Texas at El Paso Library.

“El Pasoans and the Neighbors Greet You Amigo!,” program, Box 28, Folder 16, Cleofas Calleros papers, MS231, C.L. Sonnichsen Special Collections Department, The University of Texas at El Paso Library.

See The Chicago Manual of Style for more information. 

RefWorks

 

RefWorks can be used to create and organize a personalized database of bibliographic references imported from text files and online databases or inputted by hand.

It formats both references and manuscript into various writing styles, such as MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian, IEEE, and more.

As a UTEP student you can create a RefWorks account that will be active even after you graduate.

Note: RefWorks doesn't always work with Chicago Style and archival materials.

To learn more about RefWorks visit the RefWorks research guide.

 

Click on the following links to view a short tutorial on each RefWorks topic. For flash-free mobile and Apple devices click on

 

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |