UTEP Library Research Guides: French Studies: Find Primary Sources

Newspapers and Magazines

Charlie Hebdo
French satirical weekly
France 2
Daily news and more from this French T.V. company.
L'Humanité French-language daily newspaper
La Croix
La Recherche
France's most well-known monthly science magazine
La Tribune
La Voix du Nord
A French regional daily.
Le Figaro
Le Monde
Le Parisien
Les Echos
Libération
On-line version of the French daily
Libération
On-line version of the French daily
New online version of this daily from Strasbourg.
New online version of this daily from Strasbourg.
Nice-Matin
Online information from this French regional paper. Includes news summaries from three versions of the paper covering the regions "la Côte d'Azur", "le Var" and "la Corse."
Photo
A monthly French photo magazine.
Regards
A monthly French newsmagazine.

Primary Sources

Primary Sources allow you to study the evidence firsthand without the interpretations of others. Some of the primary sources more popular are:

Art
Autobiographies
Diaries
Speeches
Letters, correspondence
Interviews
Personal narratives
Court reports
Original Documents (Birth Certificates)
Manuscripts (Thesis and Dissertations)

If you want to find Primary Sources at the UTEP Library's online catalog: you can enter the following search terms: Letters, diaries, manuscripts with your topic.

Dissertations and thesis

Open Access Thesis and Dissertations
Provides dissertations from 1942 to 2007 in ProQuest Dissertations & Theses . Full text is available to UTEP affiliates or other institutions with a ProQuest subscription.

Authors whose dissertations/theses were completed before 2008 can contact Lisa Weber (lweber@utep.edu) to have the full text of their work added to this collection.

The authors of works in this collection retain copyright; re-use of any work should be accompanied by proper attribution to the author; works should not be re-distributed without direct permission from the author. Embargoes on the distribution of dissertations/theses established upon their submission to the UTEP Graduate School are honored in this collection as well.
Proquest Dissertations and Abstracts
Provides indexing, abstracts and complete full text for all of UTEP's Master's theses and doctoral dissertations. Abstracts available from 1980 onward. Coverage: 1942 - present (Master's); 1979 - present (Doctoral). These materials can also be obtained by checking Nugget, the UTEP Library Catalog. To search for theses and dissertations from other institutions, please use ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text (ProQuest).

Karen Arnold "Women Vintage French illustration" Image under Public Domain license.

Digital Collections

Archives de France
Proves direct or indirect access to a vast number of archival materials in national, regional, or municipal archives throughout France and overseas departments and territories.
ARTFL
Founded in 1982 as a result of a collaboration between the French government and the University of Chicago, the ARTFL Project is a consortium-based service that provides its members with access to North America's largest collection of digitized French resources. Along with ARTFL's flagship database ARTFL-FRANTEXT, ARTFL members are also given access to a large variety of other Subscriber Databases.
France in America
A bilingual digital library made available by the Library of Congress, in partnership with Bibliothèque Nationale de France. It explores the history of the French presence in North America from the first decades of the 16th century to the end of the 19th century.
Gallica
The open access digital library of the Bibliothèque nationale de France. Offers all types of media: print (monographs, periodicals and press) in image and text mode, manuscripts, sound recordings, graphic material, maps and plans. The gateway to digital collections in French.
Eurodocs, France
French historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. From the antiquity to the present.