Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

French Studies: Find Books and E-books

French studies

E-Books

Searching the Library's Catalogue 101!

Graphic with text saying what students can access from the library.

What can you find at the UTEP Library, and what can you access? 

  • Ebooks
  • Physical books 
  • Articles 
  • Journals
  • Streaming videos 
  • Databases
  • And more! 

Click on the 'Simple Search' tab to learn how!

Let's do a practice search! This simple search can help you look for general information about a topic. If you need more help, you can try an advanced search or ask the library for assistance. 

1. Begin by going to the library homepageSearch for your topic using the library's search (if it's a big topic, try searching for the largest, most general ideas for the best results)

MinerQuest Search box with the key word "climate change."

 

2. By searching 'Climate Change,' we have over 5 million results! Let's use some filters to refine our results a little more. 

A screenshot with the number of results highlighted.

 

3. Look for the 'Refine your results' tab on the left-hand side of your screen. Narrow our search by selecting 'Peer-Reviewed' or 'Available Online' or looking for only books. Think of this like the same online shopping filters for the library!

Screenshot of the filters available to uses on MinerQuest.

 

4. Once you've found the one you want, you can view it online or check it out from the library. Happy searching! 

Screenshot telling students how they can access a book or article.

Ready to explore databases? Let's begin! 

1. Start by locating Databases on the Library's homepage. 

Screenshot of the library homepage with Databases highlighted.

 

2. The UTEP library has over 400 databases that you can search! To narrow it down, you can look for a particular database by name, subject, or type. 

Screenshot of the A-Z database list with arrows point how to find a database

MinerQuest (Library Catalog)

Your main Library search from the Library home page for books, e-books, online articles, & more.

To begin a search with MinerQuest, you can type you search terms into the box on the Library's home page.

 

Search Results List

Your search will take you to a results page which you can limit and sort as you need.

Advanced Search

You can refine and limit your search on the Advanced Search page.

Resource Record

When you click on a search result, it will take you to the page for the resource.  This page will tell you where to find the resource as well as with what subjects (search terms) it has been tagged.

Subject terms

Online Dictionaries

Books

Hathi Trust

undefined

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |