UTEP Library Research Guides: Chicano Studies: UTEP Library Resources

Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h
Chicano Database (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for a wide variety of literature pertaining to Mexican-Americans, Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Derived from materials in the Chicano Studies Collection held by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, this database includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature. Other subjects include art, economics, film, folklore, health, history, labor, language, law, literature, music, politics, public policy, religion, and women's studies.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=chd
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.
https://www.jstor.org/action/showAdvancedSearch
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Subject coverage includes African Studies, Asian Studies, economics, education, film, theater, performing arts, history, Judaic Studies, language, literature, Latin American Studies, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and Women's Studies.
https://muse.jhu.edu/

Streaming Video

Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to a wide selection of documentaries and social issues films from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Docuseek2, Terra Nova Films, The Fanlight Collection, Kartemquin Films, and Collective Eye Films in streaming video format. To access UTEP's subscribed collection of streaming videos on Docuseek2, click on the "My Movies" link in the upper right-hand corner of the screen or limit to "My Movies Only" in the advanced search option.
https://docuseek2.com/view/access/fa2b043ef0f0fd76ebb157a2914db69d
Films on Demand: Digital Educational Video This link opens in a new window
State-of-the-art streaming video platform produced by the Films Media Group (FMG), composed of Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware. Streaming video content, ranging from clips to complete documentary films, may be incorporated into content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic library card catalog systems. Several titles include closed captioning. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, archival films and newsreels, and much more. Updates vary by title with new content added annually.
https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlayLists.aspx?wid=104347
Kanopy: The University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to licensed digital streaming video on the Kanopy Streaming Service platform. Playlists of video clips and/or complete documentary films may be created and incorporated into course management systems such as Blackboard, online lesson plans, or embedded within LibGuides. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes the arts and humanities, education, mass media, communication, business and professional training, science, health, and much more.
https://utep.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.kanopy.com/en/utep

E-Journals

Aztlan: a journal of Chicano studies

Dates of coverage: from 10/01/1970 to present in UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center

Description: Features articles dedicated to scholarly research relevant to or informed by the Chicano experience.

El Chicano Weekly: features, lifestyle & news you can use

Dates of coverage: from 04/21/1968 to 06/30/1977 in Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980)

Description: Contains items of interest to the Mexican-American community.

Chicano/a - Latino/a Law Review

Dates of coverage: from 1972 to 1990 in HeinOnline Law Journal Library

from 1991 to 2005 in HeinOnline Law Journal Library

from 10/03/1995 to present in LexisNexis Academic

from 2006 to present in HeinOnline Law Journal Library

from 05/01/2008 to present in Academic Search Complete

Description: Addresses legal issues pertaining to the Latino community. Includes articles on affirmative action, civil rights, land grants, and various other topics.

Find more journals:

Anthropology E-Journals

Gender and Ethnic Studies E-Journals

History and Archeology E-Journals

Sociology & Social History E-Journals

Special Collections Department, 6th floor

Bracero Oral History Project

The Bracero History Archive is a project of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media, George Mason University, the Smithsonian National Museum of American History, Brown University, and The Institute of Oral History at the University of Texas at El Paso. Funding provided by the National Endowment for the Humanities.

The Bracero Program, which brought millions of Mexican guest workers to the United States, ended more than four decades ago. Current debates about immigration policy-including discussions about a new guest worker program-have put the program back in the news and made it all the more important to understand this chapter of American history. This cooperative project sought to record the recollections of those involved in the program.

Image Collections

Mexican Revolution Resources

El Paso Herald-Post: Chicano movement series by Bob Ybarra / El Paso Herald-Post
Call Number: E184.M5 Y23 f
Publication Date: 1972-ish
(For use at library only)

Books

Note: Check library record for current availability.

The Chicano movement : perspectives from the twenty-first century by Mario T. Garcia
Call Number: Available online
ISBN: 9781135053659
Publication Date: 2014
Rethinking the Chicano Movement by Marc Simon Rodriguez
Call Number: Available online
ISBN: 1136175377
Publication Date: 2014-11-13
Chicano! by Arturo F. Rosales
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 1558851526
Publication Date: 1996-04-01
Based on the four-part television series of the same name.