Rhetoric & Composition 2: Writing About Literature: Annotated Bibliography

An annotated bibliography is a bibliography [a list of the sources- like articles & books- referred to in a scholarly work] that gives a summary of each of the entries. The purpose of annotations is to provide the reader with a summary and an evaluation of the source. Each summary should be a concise exposition of the source's central idea(s) and give the reader a general idea of the source's content.

Source: The Free Dictionary

Contents include:

• Summary: Some annotations merely summarize the source. What are the main arguments? What is the point of this book or article? What topics are covered? If someone asked what this article/book is about, what would you say? The length of your annotations will determine how detailed your summary is.  Who is the intended audience?

• Assessment: After summarizing a source, it may be helpful to evaluate it. Is it a useful source? How does it compare with other sources in your bibliography? Is the information reliable? Is this source biased or objective? What is the goal of this source?

• Evaluation: Once you've summarized and assessed a source, you need to ask how it fits into your research. Was this source helpful to you? How does it help you shape your argument? How can you use this source in your research project? Has it changed how you think about your topic?

• Information on the author(s): What is the author's authority? What are their qualifications?

Source: The OWL, Annotated Bibliographies.

Annotated Citation Example for a book

• In APA, you must double-space you’re your entries and add a hanging indent to each one (See p.180 of APA manual).

Note: I made this one to use as an example. Check with your professor for assignment details, such as word length, components of the annotation, citation style, number of required citations, and source type requirements. -Mr. Morales/UTEP Librarian

More Annotated Bibliography Examples:

(These are links to electronic articles/annotated bibliographies found through the UTEP Library online catalog)

Conte, S. (2015). Learning Community Literature: Annotated Bibliography. New Directions For Student Services, (149), 91-100.  Retrieved from: http://0-search.ebscohost.com.lib.utep.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=101557586&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Cox, M. B., & Faris, M. J. (2015). An Annotated Bibliography of LGBTQ Rhetorics. Present Tense: A Journal Of Rhetoric In Society, 4(2). Retrieved from: http://www.presenttensejournal.org/volume-4/an-annotated-bibliography-of-lgbtq-rhetorics/ 

Johnson, D. E., Schroder, S. I., Erickson, J. P., & Grimes, K. N. (2008). Annotated Bibliography on the Teaching of Psychology: 2007. Teaching Of Psychology, 35(4), 376-384. doi:10.1080/00986280802390811 Retrieved from: http://0-search.ebscohost.com.lib.utep.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=35052650&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Masschelein, A., Meurée, C., Martens, D., Vanasten, S., & Willem, G. (2014). The Literary Interview: An Annotated Bibliography. Poetics Today, 35(1/2), 51-116. doi:10.1215/03335372-2646854 Retrieved from:http://0-poeticstoday.dukejournals.org.lib.utep.edu/content/35/1-2/51.full.pdf+html?sid=fe54194d-1a61-456d-8a75-1e22d6184258