El Paso History: Online Resources

Provides full-text/full-image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands, the United Kingdom (U.K.), France, Germany, Ireland, South Africa, Jamaica, Canada, Denmark, China, and Japan. Content is composed primarily of historical back issues. Dates of coverage vary by title, ranging from 1759 - present (overall).

Multimedia journalism news site featuring articles written by Latino student journalists from the Sam Donaldson Center for Communication Studies in the Department of Communication at the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP). Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and focuses on issues and news events relevant to Latinos in El Paso, Texas, as well as the U.S.- Mexico Border Region. Content is presented in English or Spanish.

Jointly sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LOC) and developed through the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), this fully-integrated content delivery platform provides full-text/full image access to a selected collection of America's historic newspapers from 1836-1922. Includes the U.S. Newspaper Directory that provides information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

A collection of digitized fire insurance maps produced by the Sanborn Map Company that provides detailed property and land-use records depicting the architecture of cities and towns in the state of Texas from 1867 - 1970. Includes structural information such as building outline, size, and shape; construction materials; building height and function; location of windows and doors; street and sidewalk widths; property boundaries; house numbers; and more. Symbols for identifying stables, garages, warehouses, and other commercial sites are also included. Depicts pipelines, railroads, wells, dumps, and heavy machinery. Pinpoints streets, landmarks, and other places noted in the map's index. Once displayed, the maps can be manipulated, expanded, printed, and downloaded.

Integrated content platform that provides full-text/full image access to a widely varied collection of historical materials concerning Texas, from prehistory through the twentieth century. Content focuses on primary sources, including digital reproductions of photographs, maps, letters, documents, books, artifacts, newspapers, audio and video recordings, and more. Collections are derived from the contributions of participating Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections. Includes Primary Source Adventures, My Texas History Notebook, and Texas History Snapshot curriculum materials that comply with Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) standards for classroom teaching.

Provides bibliographic indexing for nearly all doctoral dissertations and Master's theses accepted at North American academic institutions. Selectively indexes dissertations and theses from academic institutions in Great Britain, Europe, and other countries around the globe. Dissertations published since July 1980 include abstracts written by the author. Theses published since 1988 include brief abstracts. All titles published since 1997 include 24-page previews and complete full text; selected full text is available for earlier dates.

Preserves, organizes, and provides access to UTEP's Institutional Repository (IR) or online archive of research and scholarship of various types across all colleges, departments, and programs. Materials indexed include working papers, journal articles, conference papers, UTEP's dissertations and theses, photographic collections, and more. All items posted are full text or full image. Includes Faculty Selected Works.

Provides complete full text/full image access to a selected collection of Texas historical newspapers from 1813-1922. Subject coverage includes extensive Texas local, regional, and national history through rural weeklies and urban dailies.

Provides full text/full image access to the U.S. Serial Set and Serial Set Maps, comprehensive, ongoing collections of U.S. Government publications compiled under the direction of Congress. Subject coverage includes many aspects of American life from the late 18th century up to 1969, ranging from farming, westward expansion, and scientific exploration to politics, law, international relations, business, and manufacturing. Materials indexed include Congressional legislative reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress prior to 1969. Also includes the American State Papers, maps, illustrations, photos, and lithographs. Coverage: 1789 - 1969.

Provides access to a collection of primary and secondary legal research materials that includes federal and state case law; court rules; statutory and regulatory materials from publications such as the United States Code Annotated, the Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations; reference publications; full text legal periodicals and law reviews; legal guides; and other information for pre-law students. Also includes American Law Reports and American Jurisprudence.

Provides full-text/full-image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands, the United Kingdom (U.K.), France, Germany, Ireland, South Africa, Jamaica, Canada, Denmark, China, and Japan. Content is composed primarily of historical back issues. Dates of coverage vary by title, ranging from 1759 - present (overall).

UTEP students, faculty, and staff have unlimited access to the New York Times digital newspaper subscription. Create your own account to start using.

Provides complete full-text/full-image access to the El Paso Times from 1881 to current. The El Paso Herald-Post has full-text/full-image access for the years 1896-1997. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more.
NOTE: El Paso Herald Post content will begin loading in December 2022.

Provides access to full-text documents from a wide variety of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Sources include: national, regional, and international newspapers; wire services; broadcast transcripts; non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law; codes and regulations; legal news; law reviews; international legal information; Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; business news journals; company financial information; and SEC filings and reports as well as industry and market news. Coverage and updates vary by title and document type. NOTE: Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic. See also: WestlawNext Campus Research.

Provides full-text/full-image access to The New York Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1851 up through five years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of The New York Times, see Nexis Uni. To locate printed or microfilm copies of The New York Times, check MinerQuest, the UTEP Library Catalog.
NOTE: UTEP students, faculty, and staff have unlimited access to New York Times Digital Edition subscription.

Provides full-text/full-image access to the Los Angeles Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1881 up through 25 years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of the Los Angeles Times, see LexisNexis Academic.

Bibliographic index that provides selective coverage for a wide variety of international, national, and regional newspapers. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary. Indexes other news sources such as television and radio transcripts, newswires, book reviews, speeches, and magazines. Many citations include abstracts and/or full-text while others link to full-text content based on institutional subscriptions. Updated daily.