UTEP Library Research Guides: Dive Deep into News Sources: International Newspapers

International Newspapers

International Newspapers are newspapers published outside the U.S.A. excluding those listed in the regional newspapers tab.

Databases

Latin American Newspapers (NewsBank/Readex)
Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries, this collection provides complete full text/full image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various Latin American countries. Dates of coverage range from 1805-1922 (overall).
LexisNexis Academic
Sources include: national, regional, and international newspapers.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Bibliographic index that provides selective coverage for a wide variety of international, national, and regional newspapers.
NewspaperARCHIVE.com
Provides full text/full image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands.
Palmer's Full Text Online (ProQuest)
Provides bibliographic indexing as well as full-text/full-image access to The Times newspaper of London, England. Resources include: Palmer's Index to the Times (October 1790-December 1905) and Palmer's Full Text Online (1800-1870).

Ask a Librarian

Have a question? Click on the icon above and Ask Us!

Current & Back Issues in Print

The latest 2 weeks issues of each newspaper listed below are located in the Current Periodical section (second floor). Earlier print issues are held in the Media & Microforms department (first floor).

Newspaper Title	Library Holdings	Newspaper Website
Die Zeit	Current 12 Months Retained in Print	http://www.zeit.de/index
Moscow News	Current 12 Months Retained in Print	http://themoscownews.com/
People's Daily	Current 6 Months Retained in Print	http://english.peopledaily.com.cn/
Sunday Times	Current Issues Retained Until Microfilm Received	http://www.thesundaytimes.co.uk/sto/
Times	Current Issues Retained Until Microfilm Received	http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/news/
Times Educational Supplement	Current Issues Retained Until Microfilm Received	http://www.tes.co.uk/
Times Literary Supplement	Current Issues Retained Until Microfilm Received	http://www.the-tls.co.uk/tls/

Back Issues in Microfilm

Newspapers in microfilm are located in the Media and Microforms department (1st floor) they are arranged alphabetically. The following list is just a small sample of the international newspapers available in microfilm. Please ask for assistance in the Media & Microforms department to view, save and print articles.

Freiheit Newspaper from Belin Germany 1833-1922
Granma Newspaper from Havana Cuba 1966-1968
Excelsior Newspaper from Mexico City 1918-1985
Japan Times 1941-1945
Journal de Constantinople, Echo de l'Orient Newspaper from Turkey 1843-1853
Mexican Herald 1895-1915
North-China Herald 1850-1941
Sunday Times Weekend edition of the Times of London 1972-Present
Times London 1788-Present
TLS Times Literary Supplement London 1902-Present
TES Times Education Supplement London 1910-1991

Print indexes, Guides and Web Sources

Most indexes in print are located in the Reference Index area (2nd floor) after the reference books and before the reference literature books. Call numbers start with REF INDEX.

Google News Archive International
Note: see article "Google Ditches Newspaper Archive Plan" 5/20/2011 at http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/2011/may/20/google-newspaper-archive-online
International News Archive
Very extensive list of what is available with direct links to the newspapers.
Newspaper Map: Find and Translate 10,000 Newspapers
Website is a tool that uses GIS mapping and Google's translation service to find and read newspapers around the world.
Times Index
Call Number: REF INDEX AI21 .T46
Indexes the Times from London, Sunday Times, Times Literary Supplement , Times Educational Supplement and Times of Higher Education.