UTEP Library Research Guides: Dive Deep into News Sources: National Newspapers

National Newspapers

National Newspapers are those newspapers published in the U.S.A. excluding those listed in the regional newspapers tab.

Databases

19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale)
Provides full text/full image access to selected primary source newspaper content published during the 19th century from both urban and rural regions throughout the United States.
African American Newspapers (1827-1998) (NewsBank/Readex)
Provides complete full text/full image access to a collection of U.S. newspapers that chronicles the African American experience from 1827-1998.
Civil War, Part I - A Newspaper Perspective (Accessible Archives)
Provides access to a wide variety of primary source material in American history. Archival content is organized into subject collections derived from leading historical periodicals and books, newspapers, diaries, and genealogical records.
Early American Newspapers (1690-1876), Series I (NewsBank/Readex)
Provides complete full text/full image access to over 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) Online
Provides full text/full image access to Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
LexisNexis Academic
Sources include: national, regional, and international newspapers.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Bibliographic index that provides selective coverage for a wide variety of international, national, and regional newspapers.
NewspaperARCHIVE.com
Provides full text/full image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Los Angeles Times
Provides full text/full image access to the Los Angeles Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1881 up to 1988.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - The New York Times
Provides full text/full image access to the New York Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1851 up to 2008.
ProQuest Newspapers: Wall Street Journal
Bibliographic database that provides indexing, abstracts, and complete full text for articles from the Eastern edition of the Wall Street Journal from 1984-Present.

The Growth of US Newspapers, 1690-2011

This animation is taken from the interactive data visualization of the Library of Congress' "Chronicling America" directory of US newspapers. It shows all newspapers in all languages in the US from 1690 to 2011. View the full visualization at ruralwest.stanford.edu/newspapers.

Ask a Librarian

Have a question? Click on the icon above and Ask Us!

Current & Back Issues on Print

The latest 2 weeks issues of each newspaper listed below are located in the Current Periodical section (second floor). Earlier print issues are held in the Media & Microforms department (first floor).

Newspaper Title	Library Holdings	Newspaper Website
Advertising Age	Current Issues Retained Until Microfilm Received	http://adage.com/
American Poetry Review	Current Issues Retained Until Microfilm Received	https://www.aprweb.org/
ASHA Leader	Current 12 Months Retained in Print	http://www.asha.org/leader.aspx
Atlanta Journal Constitution	Current 6 Months Retained in Print	http://www.ajc.com/
Barron's	Current Issues Retained Until Microfilm Received	http://online.barrons.com/
Chicago Tribune	Current Issues Retained Until Microfilm Received	http://www.chicagotribune.com/
Chronicle of Higher Education	Current Issues Retained Until Microfilm Received	http://chronicle.com/
Computerworld	Current 24 Months Retain in Print	http://www.computerworld.com/
Guardian Weekly	Current 12 Months Reatain in Print	http://www.guardian.co.uk/weekly
Los Angeles Times	Current Issues Retained Until Microfilm Received	http://www.latimes.com/
New York Times	Current Issues Retained Until Microfilm Received	http://www.nytimes.com/
Rolling Stone	Current Issues Retained Until Microfilm Received	http://www.rollingstone.com/
San Diego Union-Tribune	Current 12 Months Reatain in Print	http://www.utsandiego.com/
Wall Street Journal	Current Issues Retained Until Microfilm Received	http://online.wsj.com/
Washington Post	Current Issues Retained Until Microfilm Received	http://www.washingtonpost.com/

Back Issues in Microfilm

Newspapers in microfilm are located in the Media and Microforms department (1st floor) they are arranged alphabetically. The following list is just a small sample of the national newspapers available in microfilm. Please ask for assistance in the Media & Microforms department to view, save and print articles.

Advertising Age 1930-Present
Barron's Business National Newspaper May 1921-Present
Chicago Tribune 1855, 1872-1901, 1972-Present
Christian Science Monitor 1908-1993
Chronicle of Higher Education 1980-Present
Los Angeles Times 1973-Present
Louisiana Gazette 1808-1816
New York Evening Post 1801-1851
New York Times 1851-Present
Washington Post 1971-Present

Print indexes, Guides and Web Sources

Alternative Press Index
Call Number: REF Index AI3 .A27
Alternative Press Index is a biannual* subject indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines 1969-1988.

Most indexes in print are located in the Reference Index area (2nd floor) after the reference books and before the reference literature books. Call numbers start with REF INDEX.

Chicago Tribune Index
Call Number: REF INDEX AI21.C45 C47
Indexes the Chicago Tribune from 1988-Present.
Christian Science Monitor Index.
Call Number: REF INDEX AI21 .C462
Indexes the Christian Science Monitor from
Chronicling America
Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. It has digitized thousand of U.S. historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 .
Google News Archive Search
Note: see article "Google Ditches Newspaper Archive Plan" 5/20/2011 at http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/2011/may/20/google-newspaper-archive-online
Los Angeles Times Index
Call Number: REF INDEX AI21.L65 N49
Indexes Los Angels Times from 1984- Present.
New York Times Index
Call Number: REF INDEX AI21 .N45
Indexes the New York Times 1836-74, 1876-79, 1886-99, 1905-48, 1950, 1953-Present.
Personal Name Index to "The New York Times Index"
Call Number: REF INDEX AI21 .N452
Personal name index to the New York Times 1975-1993 supplement.
Personal Name Index to "The New York Times Index,"
Call Number: REF INDEX AI21 .N451
Personal name index to the New York Times 1851-1974.
Washington Post Index
Call Number: REF INDEX AI21.W33 W36
Indexes the Washington Post from 1989-Present.