It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A-Z Resource List: M
This guide contains a full list of resources organized by name.
Fully-integrated online platform that provides access to a wide variety of educational content produced by Magna Publications. Content includes online seminars and courses, newsletters, videos, white papers, and other products that support faculty and staff professional development in higher education. Full access to content is based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage and updates vary by title. NOTE: UTEP's subscribed content includes the following online newsletters: 1) Academic Leader, and 2) The Teaching Professor.
MagPortal.com is a freely accessible search engine and directory for finding full text online magazine articles. It also provides feeds for use on other websites. Subject coverage includes business, computers and electronics, education and reference, entertainment and leisure, family and home, finance and investment, health, the Internet, pets and animals, science and technology, society, politics and culture, and sports and recreation. Full text access and coverage depends on publication.
Provides full text/full image access to a collection of primary source materials in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction drawn from the Cornell University Library. Subject coverage includes education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, science, and technology. Materials indexed include books and journals published in the 19th century. Coverage: 1850 - 1877.
Provides full text/full image access to a collection of primary source materials in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction drawn from the University of Michigan Libraries. Subject coverage includes education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, science, and technology. Materials indexed include books and journals published in the 19th century. Coverage: 1850 - 1877.
Online language learning program that teaches conversation skills at varying levels of intensity and provides cultural awareness information for a wide selection of the world's most popular languages including English. Language lessons range from Basic for learners wanting simple, practical language skills to Complete 2.0 for learners wanting in-depth, comprehensive language and grammar skills.
NOTE: Users can either login anonymously or create an account to keep track of their language learning progress.
High school-level bibliographic index for general interest, current events, and reference publications concerning health, science, history, and other subject areas. Materials indexed including health and science-related pamphlets, charts, tables, graphs, book reviews, magazines, maps, flags, photos, and reference books. Includes the American Heritage Dictionary, 4th edition. Citations include abstracts and some include full-text or links to full-text, based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage: 1984 - present (updated daily).
Multidisciplinary bibliographic index for periodical literature dealing with business, education, health, science, multicultural issues, reference, and more. Materials indexed include reference and travel books, biographies, book reviews, primary source documents, photos, maps, and flags. Includes the American Heritage Dictionary, 4th edition. Citations include abstracts and some full-text or links to full-text, based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage: 1975 - present (updated daily).
Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full-text access to a comprehensive collection of international scholarly literature pertaining to materials science and engineering. Subject coverage includes biomaterials and biomedical engineering, ceramics, composites, corrosion, and more. Publications indexed include scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government documents. Coverage: 1965 - present. NOTE: The Materials Science & Engineering Database (ProQuest) is a subset of the SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) and the Technology Collection (ProQuest). It includes content from the following subset databases: Copper Technical Reference Library (ProQuest), METADEX (ProQuest), and Polymer Library Database (ProQuest).
Provides comprehensive bibliographic indexing, abstracts, and reviews for international mathematical sciences literature derived from academic research journals, books, and conference proceedings. Some citations link to full-text content based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage: Early 1800s - present.
Comprehensive index that provides citations and abstracts for international literature in mechanical and transportation engineering. Subject coverage includes forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics and computation. Materials indexed include journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports.
Provides full-text access to a selected collection of medical reference e-books published by the CRC Press. Subject coverage includes allergy and immunology, anesthesiology, cardiology, clinical neuroscience, critical care medicine, dentistry, dermatology, diabetes, emergency medicine, endocrinology, gastroenterolgy, hematology, medical education, microbiology, infectious diseases, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, pain management, psychology, sleep disorders, sports medicine, surgery, urology and more. Coverage: Titles published from 2011 to 2014 (updates vary).
Selective bibliographic index for a unique collection of full text Spanish-language medical literature. Subject coverage includes neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, veterinary medicine, public health, and hematology. Publications indexed are primarily medical research and investigatory peer-reviewed journals from Latin American and Spanish publishers. This database is made possible by TexShare.
Comprehensive index for international literature in biomedicine, bioengineering, and health. Includes those areas of the life, behavioral, and chemical sciences needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities. Subject coverage includes medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. Materials indexed include scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. This database is made possible by TexShare.
Bibliographic index for international literature pertaining to biomedicine, bioengineering, and health. Subject coverage includes a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services as well as nursing, dentistry, and veterinary medicine. Materials indexed include scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters.
Note: Single simultaneous user only
Bibliographic index for international literature pertaining to biomedicine, bioengineering, and health. Subject coverage includes a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services as well as nursing, dentistry, and veterinary medicine. Materials indexed include scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. Many citations include abstracts and some include links to full text, based on institutional subscriptions.
Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, this database provides online access to the complete multi-volume print series of the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) as well as Tests in Print (TIP). The MMY is a comprehensive evaluation guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments in the subject areas of psychology, education, business, and leadership. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography for all known commercially-available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Information provided by TIP includes test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
Provides full-text/full-image online access to every Mergent/Moody's historical manual published since 1909. Content includes Mergent/Moody's Industrial Manual (since 1920), Public Utility Manual (since 1914), OTC Industrial Manual (since 1970), Transportation Manual (since 1909), OTC Unlisted Manual (since 1986), International Manual (since 1981), Bank & Finance Manual (since 1928), and Dun & Bradstreet (D&B) Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (since 1979). Other accessible content includes Ford Equity Research Reports (most recent three years) for over 4,500 U.S. and Canadian companies as well as Mergent's Industry Report Collection (2003 - present) that provides detailed analysis and forecasts on two dozen major global industry sectors for the North American, European, Asia Pacific, and Latin American regions. Coverage (overall): 1909 - one year from present (updated annually). NOTE: The digital version of each manual is published approximately one year after the printed version.
This database is funded, in part, by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Key Business Ratios on the Web (KBR) provides online access to industry benchmarks compiled from Dun & Bradstreet's database of public and private companies. Content includes industry and company reports and ratios. Coverage: Most current three years (annual updates). NOTE: See Mergent Archives for access to archival back-files (1979 to 2016).
Provides comprehensive coverage for global business and financial research. Includes current and archival data for both active and inactive U.S. and non-U.S. public companies. Detailed company information includes corporate histories, annual reports, financial statements, property, joint ventures, subsidiaries, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, executives, long-term debt, capital stock, ratios, and bond ratings. Also includes news headlines, SEC filings for U.S. public companies, and country statistical profiles. NOTE: Additional subscribed modules include: FIS Annuals (both U.S. and International), Holdings/Company Archives, Industry Report Service, Equity Pricing, Mergent Equity Research Reports, D&B Global Private Company Database, Standardized Financial Data, and Executive Biographies.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for information on metals and alloys, including their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development. Source publications include journals, patents, dissertations, government reports, conference proceedings, and books.
Middle and junior high school-level bibliographic index for general literature in a wide variety of subject areas, including business, science, history, education, art, and more. Materials indexed include popular magazines, books, newspapers, biographies, historical essays, pamphlets, photos, maps, flags, and primary source documents. Includes the American Heritage Dictionary, 4th edition.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for current literature pertaining to all branches of the U.S. military and government. Materials indexed include magazines, journals, pamphlets, newspapers, books, transcripts, newswires, and government documents.
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America (MLA), this directory lists periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are regularly indexed in the MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO). Includes editorial addresses, advertising and subscription rates, frequency, publisher, scope, information about submissions for publication, and much more for each title listed.
Comprehensive bibliographic index produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) for international scholarly research materials on language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Subject areas range from the arts, humanities, and education to the behavioral, social, economic, and political sciences. Materials indexed include journal articles, books, book chapters, working papers, and conference proceedings.
Comprehensive stock database that includes financial data on companies traded on the New York Stock Exchange, NASDAQ┬«, and the American Stock Exchange. Includes in-depth research reports on companies; data on mutual, closed-end, and exchange-traded funds; analysts' reports on funds; exclusive investment tools and engaging educational features, including interactive training on basic and advanced stock, fund, and portfolio techniques.
Formerly The Music Index Online provided by Harmonie Park Press, this comprehensive bibliographic database, including abstracts, provides both cover-to-cover and selective indexing for articles derived from periodicals and scholarly literature about classical and popular music, musicians, and the music industry. Publications indexed include academic journals, magazines, trade publications, book reviews, obituaries, and news.
Provides indexing and abstracts for international music and performing arts periodicals, plus complete full text articles for many scholarly journals. Subject coverage includes a variety of topics in the field of music including performance, theory and composition, music education, jazz, and ethnomusicology. Coverage varies by title, ranging from 1874 to present overall; bulk ranges from 1996 to present. Updated monthly.