It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A-Z Resource List: L
This guide contains a full list of resources organized by name.
Developed as one of the initiatives under the collaboration between the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS) and the Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin Libraries, this site organizes and provides access to a widely-varied collection of Internet-based and editorially reviewed resource guides pertaining to Latin America. Subject coverage with respect to Latin American Studies includes economics, education, geography, the environment, political science, humanities, computer science, library science, communication, science, social science, sociology, and more. Updates vary.
Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this collection provides complete full-text/full-image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various Latin American countries, including: Mexico, Argentina, Cuba, Chile, Brazil, Peru, Trinidad, and Guyana. Most titles are printed in either Spanish or Portuguese while some are printed in the English language. The bulk of the collection is from the 19th century; dates of coverage range from 1805-1922 (overall).
Provides full text access to an extensive collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by the most important women writers of Mexico, Central America, and South America. Includes essays by principal Latin American feminists and revolutionaries. Updated bi-weekly.
NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Provides full-text/full-image access to a digital collection of selected historical content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries derived from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project undertaken by Arte Público Press. Publications indexed include rare books and literary manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, photographs, historical records, and a wide variety of manuscript materials. A substantial portion of the collection is provided in the Spanish language; the content is indexed and searchable in both English and Spanish.
Fully-integrated online resource that provides access to a comprehensive collection of lools for test preparation, skill-building, and career guidance. Includes preparation materials for college and graduate school admissions tests including the SAT, ACT, GMAT, GRE, LSAT, and MCAT as well as professional certification licensing, and aptitude tests in civil service, law enforcement, firefighting, EMS, military, real estate, and healthcare, among others. This database is made possible by TexShare.
Bibliographic index for selected literature concerning current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends in law and related topics. Subject coverage includes criminal justice; international and federal law; organized crime; medical, labor and human resource law; ethics; the environment; and more. Publications indexed are primarily scholarly law journals.
Full-text database of more than a dozen publications and reference books pertaining to law and legal matters. Content includes information on adoption, child custody, divorce, estate planning, family law, property and real estate, rights and disputes and small claims court. Subject coverage includes criminal justice, law. This database is made possible by TexShare.
Comprehensive online database that provides point of care drug information including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, and other tools. Subjects include Clinical Laboratory Science, Nursing and Pharmacy.
Bibliographic index for journal literature designed for library professionals and other information specialists. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage: 1965- present.
Bibliographic index for international journal literature designed for library professionals and other information specialists. Subject coverage includes past and present developments in librarianship, information science, online retrieval, publishing, and information technology. Includes unpublished academic and institutional research from the Information Research Watch International (IRWI) database.
Bibliographic index for international library and information science literature. Subject coverage includes automation, cataloging, censorship, children's literature, Access Services procedures, classification, copyright legislation, associations and conferences, preservation of materials, and more. Materials indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, theses, and pamphlets.
Specialized web interface that allows for the simultaneous or meta-searching of online catalogs from both academic and public libraries in Texas as well as an array of TexShare-sponsored commercial databases and other knowledge collections. Information resources are grouped together by subject, region, and type of library. Many of the search results from TexShare-sponsored databases will include full text articles or will link to relevant full text resources subscribed to by the UTEP Library. Search results also include links to online bookstores and an Interlibrary Loan request form for materials not available at the UTEP Library.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for literature concerned with the nature and use of language. Subject coverage includes phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics. Source publications include books, journal articles, conference proceedings, and reports.
Provides full-text access to a range of literary reference works. Materials indexed include plot summaries, synopses, work overviews, biographies, classic and contemporary poems and short stories, author interviews and classic texts. This database is made possible by TexShare.
Provides full text/full image online access to each of the 12 literature criticism book series published by Gale, including the complete back-file. Materials indexed include scholarly and popular analytical commentary in essay format derived from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books, and periodicals. Titles include: Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism (NCLC), Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (TCLC), Literature Criticism from 1400 - 1800 (LC), Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism (CMLC), Shakespearean Literature Criticism (SLC), Poetry Criticism (PC), Short Story Criticism (SSC), Drama Criticism (DC), Children's Literature Review (CLR), Something About the Author (SATA), and Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB).