Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tests and Measurement Instruments
Tests and Measurements such as questionnaires, inventories and scales, are standardized instruments design to measure concepts and variables in numerous social science disciplines. They are used for diagnosis, research or assessment.
We now have Mental Measurement Yearbook with Test in Print
Mental Measurements Yearboo k, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
Finding Test & Measurement Instruments
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (EBSCO)
Provides information about behavioral measurement instruments. If you do not find the full text article click on Check for this item at UTEP Library to see if we have it on print or through another database. Also look in the Reference section and search those sources using the catalog or E-journal portal.
Finding test and measurement instruments is not an easy task. Researches may opt on not including their test or measurement instruments when they publish articles. Some publishing companies do not include the test and measurements due to space. Most importantly most measurement instruments are copyrighted material.
However you can still find test and measurement instruments through the following databases:
Evaluating Measurment Instruments
When evaluating measurement instruments ask the following questions:
- Has the instrument been used in your discipline or subject area?
- What are the procedures of this instrument?
- Has the instrument been used on the population intended?
- Does the instrument provide stable and consistent results? (Reliability) (a≥0.7)
- Does it measure the variables that it was intended to measure? (Validity)
- What is the cost of applying such instrument to a study?
Use the Mental Measurement Yearbook with Test in Print
Also available in print in the library reference collection (2nd floor) call number: REF LB3051 .M458
The Mental Measurements Yearbook produced by the Buros Institute provides a comprehensive guide to thousands of testing instruments. Mental Measurements contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. The yearbook DOES NOT include actual instruments.