UTEP Library Research Guides: UNIV 1301- Protests of the 1960s: Find Articles

Scholarly Articles

Historical Newspapers

Peaceful Protest

Databases for Scholarly Articles

Please note that these links lead to sites accessible only to UTEP students, faculty, and staff with proper credentials. If you are accessing these databases remotely, please have your PIN number and 800 number ready.

Hover over the links for a brief description of each.

America: History and Life
Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature concerning the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Materials indexed include journal and magazine articles, books, book and media reviews, conference proceedings, and dissertations. Subject coverage beyond history includes culture, gender studies, psychology, literature, politics, and more. Coverage: 1964 - present.
Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection
Provides full text/full image access to a digital collection of selected historical content pertaining to hispanic social history, literature, politics, religion, and culture in the United States. Publications indexed include scholarly monographs and reference books, selected historical newspapers, scholarly journals, magazines, periodicals, pamphlets, broadsides, and more. Coverage: colonial times- 1960.
Bibliography of native North Americans
Bibliographic index for literature concerning all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Subject coverage includes anthropology, archaeology, education, multicultural relations, psychology, political science, gaming, governance, legend, sociology, and literacy. Materials indexed include books, essays, journal and newspaper articles, and book reviews, as well as U.S. and Canadian government documents. Coverage: 16th century - present.
Center for Research Libraries
Provides access to the collections of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), including newspapers, serials, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other traditional print and digital resources for research and teaching.

This database is a good source for primary resources.
Chicano Database
Comprehensive bibliographic index for a wide variety of literature pertaining to Mexican-Americans, Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Subjects include art, economics, film, folklore, health, history, labor, language, law, literature, music, politics, public policy, religion, and women's studies. Includes journal and newspaper articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations. Overall coverage ranges from the early 1900s - present.
JSTOR
Provides complete full text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals. Coverage varies by title, ranging from a journal's first volume/issue to 3-5 years from the present.

An excellent place to search for journal articles.
North American Immigrant letters, diaries, and oral Histories
Provides full text/full image access to a select collection of North American immigrant correspondence, diaries, and oral histories. Coverage: 1840-present.
Women and Social Movements in the U.S., 1600-2000
Provides integrated full text/full image access to a specialized collection of primary source materials pertaining to U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Subject coverage focuses primarily on the history of women in social movements in the United States from 1600 - 2000. Publications indexed include book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
American History in Video
rovides online access to a broad and varied collection of digital streaming videos pertaining to American history. Includes selected documentaries from The History Channel, A&E Television Network, Biography Channel, PBS, Bullfrog Films, Documentary Educational Resources, California Newsreel, Media Rich Learning (forthcoming), Newsreel Films, Pennebaker Hegedus Films, and many more.
Contemporary Women's Issues
provides abstracts and full text for international literature in the field of Women's Studies. Subject coverage includes domestic violence, employment and the workplace, gender equity, the family, lesbian studies, reproductive health, and human rights. Materials indexed range from journals, books, and the alternative press to gray literature compiled from overlooked or hard-to-find newsletters and Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) research reports.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Full text information related to social issues and controversies. Pro and con viewpoint articles; reference articles that provide context; full text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles; primary source documents; government and organizational statistics; multimedia, including images and podcasts; links to selected web sites.
Prospector - Student Newspaper
Full-text/full-image access to the historical digital archives of The Prospector, a publication of the Division of Student Affairs, University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP). Coverage: 1915 - 2010. Updates vary. NOTE: Online access to more recent issues of The Prospector (August 31, 2010 - present) and Minero Magazine (Volume X, Spring 2010 - present) are available on DigitalCommons@UTEP. Additional and breaking news stories as well as videos, slide shows, and podcasts from the most current issues of The Prospector are available at the publication's official web site.
Academic Search Complete
Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text.

Databases for Newspapers

Access Newspaper Archive
Full-text access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world, mostly U.S. Content is composed primarily of historical back issues. Dates of coverage vary by title, ranging from 1759 - present (overall). NOTE: Includes selected content from the El Paso Times, the El Paso Herald-Post.

Hover over the links for a brief description of each.

African American newspapers (1827-1998)
Provides complete full text/full image access to a collection of U.S. newspapers that chronicles the African American experience from 1827-1998.
LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to full text documents from a wide variety of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Sources include: national, regional, and international newspapers; wire services; broadcast transcripts; non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law; codes and regulations; legal news; law reviews; international legal information.

Excellent resource for primary sources.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers- Los Angeles Times (1881-1987)
Provides full text/full image access to the Los Angeles Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1881 up to 1987. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more.

Good place to find primary sources.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers- New York Times (1851-2007)
Provides full text/full image access to the New York Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1851 up to 2007. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more.

Good place to find primary sources.
Prospector - UTEP Student Paper
full-text/full-image access to the historical digital archives of The Prospector, a publication of the Division of Student Affairs, University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP). Coverage: 1915 - 2010. NOTE: Online access to more recent issues of The Prospector (August 31, 2010 - present) and Minero Magazine (Volume X, Spring 2010 - present) are available on DigitalCommons@UTEP.

Scholarly vs. Popular Journals

This short video discusses how to distinguish between scholarly and popular journals.

UNIV 1301- Protests of the 1960s: Find Articles