UTEP Library Research Guides: Political Science: National Newspapers

National Newspapers

National Newspapers are those newspapers published in the U.S.A. excluding those listed in the regional newspapers tab.

Databases

19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale)
Provides full text/full image access to selected primary source newspaper content published during the 19th century from both urban and rural regions throughout the United States.
African American Newspapers (1827-1998) (NewsBank/Readex)
Provides complete full text/full image access to a collection of U.S. newspapers that chronicles the African American experience from 1827-1998.
Civil War, Part I - A Newspaper Perspective (Accessible Archives)
Provides access to a wide variety of primary source material in American history. Archival content is organized into subject collections derived from leading historical periodicals and books, newspapers, diaries, and genealogical records.
Early American Newspapers (1690-1876), Series I (NewsBank/Readex)
Provides complete full text/full image access to over 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) Online
Provides full text/full image access to Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
LexisNexis Academic
Sources include: national, regional, and international newspapers.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Bibliographic index that provides selective coverage for a wide variety of international, national, and regional newspapers.
NewspaperARCHIVE.com
Provides full text/full image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Los Angeles Times
Provides full text/full image access to the Los Angeles Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1881 up to 1988.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - The New York Times
Provides full text/full image access to the New York Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1851 up to 2008.
ProQuest Newspapers: Wall Street Journal
Bibliographic database that provides indexing, abstracts, and complete full text for articles from the Eastern edition of the Wall Street Journal from 1984-Present.

The Growth of US Newspapers, 1690-2011

This animation is taken from the interactive data visualization of the Library of Congress' "Chronicling America" directory of US newspapers. It shows all newspapers in all languages in the US from 1690 to 2011. View the full visualization at ruralwest.stanford.edu/newspapers.

Ask a Librarian

Have a question? Click on the icon above and Ask Us!