Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sources for the History of Twentieth-Century Mexico: Primary sources

Resources for the history of 20th-century Mexico

Selected examples of primary sources in the UTEP Library

Personal or family papers:

  1. Ginther family papers, MS437 (mining)
  2. Thomas family papers, MS400 (Bracero employers)
  3. John H. McNeely papers, MS167 (railroad records and serials)
  4. Carlos Reyes Avilez papers, 1914-1968, MS223.
  5. Cleofas Calleros papers, MS231 (immigration)
  6. Stephenson-Flores family papers, MS341  (family history)

Literary collections:

  1. Tom Lea papers, MS476
  2. Carlos Morton papers, MS279

Organizational records:

  1. National Catholic Welfare Conference case files, MS173 (immigration)
  2. Catholic Legal Immigration Network (CLINIC) citizenship and refugee files, MS397 (immigration)

Business records:

  1. Prof. Enrique C. Ledesma Escuela Tecnica Comercial records, MS385 (Juarez school)
  2. Popular Dry Goods records, MS317  (advertising in Chihuahua)
  3. John G. Barry geological consulting records, MS242 (consulted in various Mexican states)
  4. Juan Terrazas papers, 1883-1911, MS239 (mining company store)
  5. Ian Benton papers relating to Chihuahuan haciendas, MS126

Photographic collections: View some collections online at https://cdm15823.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/

  1. Manuel Carrillo photographs, MS288 (Mexico, 1950s-1980s)
  2. Wulff family photographs, PH024 (Torreon, Coah.)
  3. Gertrude Fitzgerald photographs, PH025  (Madera, Chihuahua)
  4. Mexican Revolution photograph collection, PH015
  5. Otis Aultmann photographs, PH023 (early El Paso and Juarez, 1900-1925)

 Maps:

            Assorted historical maps of Texas, the Southwest, and Mexico

Oral Histories:

Over 1400 oral history interviews, including many interviews done with people involved in the Bracero program.  Many of the oral histories are now online in Digital Commons at http://digitalcommons.utep.edu/interviews/.

Government records:  

Mexican governmental records on microfilm:

Durango state historical archives, MF492 (online guide at http://digitalcommons.utep.edu/guides/2/)

            New Mexico (Spanish and Mexican periods), MF455

            Municipal records:

            Cd. Juarez, Chihuahua, Janos, Carrizal, Parral, MF513. MF491, etc.

            (Juárez Municipal Archives guide online at http://digitalcommons.utep.edu/guides/1/)

           

Other archives:

            Archivo Judicial de Parral, Chih., MF546

            Archivo Judicial de Guerrero, Chih., MF502

            Official Gazettes:

            Periodico Oficial de Chihuahua (under several titles), MF472   

Newspapers on microfilm:

            Excelsior (Mexico City)

            El Heraldo de Chihuahua

            Periódico Oficial de Chihuahua

            El Paso Herald-Post (see also Newspaperarchive.com)

            El Paso Times

            El Continental (El Paso)

            El Fronterizo (Cd. Juárez)

            El Paso del Norte

            Samples and short runs of various local and regional newspapers

Other resources:

CoMexAz News Monitoring Service (clippings from May, 1972-Dec. 1980) Spec. Coll. Chicano  E184.M5C64 f

Vinyl record albums of Tejano, Border, and Mexican music

Contact information:

Special Collections main desk:                       (915) 747-5697

Claudia Rivers                                                (915) 747-6725           e-mail:  crivers@utep.edu

Abbie Weiser                                                   (915) 747-6839           e-mail:  ahweiser@utep.edu  

Web site:  https://www.utep.edu/library/special-collections/index.html  

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Claudia Rivers
Contact:
Library, Sixth Floor
915/747-6725

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |