Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 5377 CRN 16225 -Dr. Ignacio Martinez: Home

Selected and suggested sources for the History of Latin America research

Manuel Carrillo photograph

 Hombre de espaldas PanteĆ³n nubes neblina

 

 

History of Latin America

UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT EL PASO LIBRARY

C.L. SONNICHSEN SPECIAL COLLECTIONS DEPARTMENT

Some primary sources for the history of Latin America in the UTEP Library

 

 Government documents: 

Many print government documents are available on the first floor of the Library.

Documents from the Senate and House of Representatives are available online and full-text at ProQuest Congressional Publications (U.S. Serial Set and Serial Set Maps).  Sometimes it is helpful to look at the print indexes on the first floor of the library, since it can be hard to find relevant documents and reports with keyword searches. 

Microfilm:

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files:  Mexico Internal Affairs 1945 – 1949 Part II. MF 1624 N-14

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files:  Mexico Internal Affairs 1950-1954. MF 1624 N-16

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files:  Mexico Internal Affairs 1955 – 1959. MF 1624 N-18

Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files:  Mexico 1960 – January 1963. Internal Affairs.  MF 1624 N-20

Newspapers and gazettes:

El Periódico Oficial de Chihuahua, Chihuahua.  Microfilm copies of the newspaper that went through several name changes.  MF472.   Print guide and some hard copies available in Special Collections.

Periódico Oficial de Durango, Durango, Mexico.(Microfilm)  MF493.

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) Find under library databases. Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers

Early American Newspapers. (Readex) Find under library databases.  America's Historical Newspapers

Palmer’s Full Text Online (Proquest)  The Times of London. Find under library databases. Historical Newspapers

Chronicling America:  Historic American Newspapers online. http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808 - 1980 (Readex) Hispanic American Newspapers

Latin American Newspapers, Series 1, 1805-1922 (Newsbank/Readex) Latin American Newspapers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Los Angeles Times

From 1881 up through 25 years from the current date.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - The New York Times  

From the first issue published in 1851 up through five years from the current date. 

  

Contact information: Claudia Rivers, 747-6725; email crivers@utep.edu

Abbie Weiser, 747-6839; email  ahweiser@utep.edu

Special Collections website: https://www.utep.edu/library/special-collections/index.html  

  

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Claudia Rivers
Contact:
Library, Sixth Floor
915/747-6725

Related Guides

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |