Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 5377 CRN 16225 -Dr. Ignacio Martinez: Archival Collections

Selected and suggested sources for the History of Latin America research

Selected archival collections

A few archival collections that may be helpful for this class:

Carrasco (David L.) collection, MS 665. Relates to the 1968 Mexico City Summer Olympics

Ysleta Mission baptismal records translations, MS 040. 1792 – 1803

Ysleta civil government records, MS 086. 1835

Benton (Ian) papers relating to Chihuahuan Haciendas, MS126. 1707-1958

Hovel (John A.) collection of Bolivian publications, MS146. 1966-1967; relates to labor unrest

About archival collections at UTEP

The C.L. Sonnichsen Special Collections Department is located on the sixth floor of the UTEP Library.  It holds over 700 manuscript and photograph collections.  Guides to many of the collections may be reviewed at the Finding Aids page on the Special Collections webpage.  Also found there is a complete list of all the archival collections held by the UTEP Library. 

Because our collecting policy emphasizes collecting about UTEP, El Paso, and the U.S.-Mexico border region, our collections are strongest in relation to West Texas, the border, and northern Mexico.  Some materials on other regions may also be found among the collections. 

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |