Special Collections

The C. L. Sonnichsen Special Collections Department is located on the sixth floor. The book collections include the Chicano Collection, the Judaica Collection, the S. L. A. Marshall Military History Collection, the Southwest and Border Studies Collection, as well as collections of art and rare books. In addition to printed sources, the department has manuscript and archival collections available. There is also an oral history collection documenting the region.

Appointments

Appointments are currently needed to visit Special Collections. Email Claudia and Abbie to schedule an appointment. You must also include what materials you will need to review in your email, so they can have the materials pulled.

Recommended Online Sources from Special Collections

El Paso & Borderlands Digitized Archives
This collection on ScholarWorks has information for El Paso and some of the digitized archives for collections such as Fanny Zlabovsky: National Council of Jewish Women Case Files and Woman's Club of El Paso.
Godey's Lady's Book
Godey's Lady's Book began in 1830 as The Lady's Book. "Godey's" was added to the title around 1840. It was also known as "Godey's Magazine", using that name exclusively in its last few years. It ceased publication in 1898, and was absorbed by The Puritan.
Image Collections

Portal to Texas History This link opens in a new window
Integrated content platform that provides full-text/full image access to a widely varied collection of historical materials concerning Texas, from prehistory through the twentieth century. Content focuses on primary sources, including digital reproductions of photographs, maps, letters, documents, books, artifacts, newspapers, audio and video recordings, and more. Collections are derived from the contributions of participating Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections. Includes Primary Source Adventures, My Texas History Notebook, and Texas History Snapshot curriculum materials that comply with Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) standards for classroom teaching.
https://texashistory.unt.edu/
ScholarWorks@UTEP: The University of Texas at El Paso This link opens in a new window
Preserves, organizes, and provides access to UTEP's Institutional Repository (IR) or online archive of research and scholarship of various types across all colleges, departments, and programs. Materials indexed include working papers, journal articles, conference papers, UTEP's dissertations and theses, photographic collections, and more. All items posted are full text or full image. Includes Faculty Selected Works.
https://scholarworks.utep.edu/

WS4360 - Diaz

SPC Quick Links

Head of Special Collections

Assistant to the Head of Special Collections

Special Collections

Recommended Online Sources from Special Collections