Historical Newspapers - History 5374 - Leyva - UTEP Library Research Guides at The University of Texas at El Paso

Locating Historical Newspapers

Local and regional newspapers include:

El Paso Herald, click here or here (also on microfilm)
El Paso Herald Post, click here (also on microfilm)
El Paso Morning Times, click here or here (also on microfilm)
El Paso Times, click here (very limited online coverage, microfilm for complete coverage)
El Continental, click here (also on microfilm)
Periódico Oficial de Chihuahua (microfilm, some hard copies in Special Collections)
El Fronterizo, click here
Fronterizo (microfilm)

The Special Collections Department (6th floor) houses issues of many local and regional newspapers as well as magazines.

To view all newspaper databases, select "newspapers" in the Articles and Databases search field of the Library Catalog or click here.

The UTEP Library also contains national and local newspapers on microfilm. The Media and Microfilm Department is located on the first floor of the Library.

Select Newspaper Databases

19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text/full-image access to selected primary source newspaper content published during the 19th century from both urban and rural regions throughout the United States. Subject coverage focuses on the daily life, politics, culture, ethnic groups, and major historical events from 19th century America, including the American Civil War, African-Americans, Native Americans, Western migration, Antebellum-era life, women's rights, labor groups, and more.
https://go.gale.com/ps/start.do?p=NCNP&u=txshracd2603
Access Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text/full-image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands, the United Kingdom (U.K.), France, Germany, Ireland, South Africa, Jamaica, Canada, Denmark, China, and Japan. Content is composed primarily of historical back issues. Dates of coverage vary by title, ranging from 1759 - present (overall).
African American Newspapers (1827-1998) (NewsBank/Readex) This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full text/full image access to a collection of U.S. newspapers that chronicles the African American experience from 1827-1998. Subject coverage spans life in the Antebellum South; the spread of abolitionism; growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the Great Migration to northern cities, including the West and Midwest in search of greater opportunity; rise of the N.A.A.C.P.; the Harlem Renaissance; the Civil Rights movement; political and economic empowerment, and more. Materials indexed include articles, obituaries, advertisements, editorials, and illustrations.
https://infoweb.newsbank.com/apps/readex/?p=EANAAA
Borderzine: Journalism Across Fronteras This link opens in a new window
Multimedia journalism news site featuring articles written by Latino student journalists from the Sam Donaldson Center for Communication Studies in the Department of Communication at the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP). Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and focuses on issues and news events relevant to Latinos in El Paso, Texas, as well as the U.S.- Mexico Border Region. Content is presented in English or Spanish.
https://borderzine.com/
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Jointly sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LOC) and developed through the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), this fully-integrated content delivery platform provides full-text/full image access to a selected collection of America's historic newspapers from 1836-1922. Includes the U.S. Newspaper Directory that provides information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/
Frontera NorteSur This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Center for Latin American and Border Studies at New Mexico State University (NMSU), this free web site provides full-text online news coverage and analysis of events taking place in the United States-Mexico border region. Subject coverage includes commerce, border crossings, the environment, education, health, human rights, immigration, politics, and security.
https://fnsnews.nmsu.edu/
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 (NewsBank/Readex) This link opens in a new window
Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project at the University of Houston, this large and distinctive collection provides full text/full image access to Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Subject coverage includes every major theme in American history and culture including reported news events in Spanish-speaking countries not always available in traditional U.S. newspapers.
http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=EANX&d_collections=EANASP
Portal to Texas History This link opens in a new window
Integrated content platform that provides full-text/full image access to a widely varied collection of historical materials concerning Texas, from prehistory through the twentieth century. Content focuses on primary sources, including digital reproductions of photographs, maps, letters, documents, books, artifacts, newspapers, audio and video recordings, and more. Collections are derived from the contributions of participating Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections. Includes Primary Source Adventures, My Texas History Notebook, and Texas History Snapshot curriculum materials that comply with Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) standards for classroom teaching.
https://texashistory.unt.edu/
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Los Angeles Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text/full-image access to the Los Angeles Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1881 up through 25 years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of the Los Angeles Times, see LexisNexis Academic.
https://search.proquest.com/hnplatimes/advanced?accountid=7121
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - The New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text/full-image access to The New York Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1851 up through five years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of The New York Times, see Nexis Uni. To locate printed or microfilm copies of The New York Times, check MinerQuest, the UTEP Library Catalog.
NOTE: UTEP students, faculty, and staff have unlimited access to New York Times Digital Edition subscription.
https://search.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes/advanced?accountid=7121
NOTE: This database is partially funded by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
World Newspaper Archive: Latin American Newspapers - Series 2, 1822-1922 (NewsBank/Readex) This link opens in a new window
Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this collection provides complete full-text/full-image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various Latin American countries, including: Mexico, Argentina, Cuba, Chile, Brazil, Peru, Trinidad, and Guyana. Most titles are printed in either Spanish or Portuguese while some are printed in the English language. The bulk of the collection is from the 19th century; dates of coverage range from 1822-1922 (overall).
http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=WHNPX&d_collections=WHNPLAN2