The Great Depression: UTEP Library Special Collections

UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT EL PASO LIBRARY

 C.L. SONNICHSEN SPECIAL COLLECTIONS DEPARTMENT

 

Primary source materials for the history of the Great Depression 

 

Personal papers:

            Examples include Cleofas Calleros papers (MS231), Betty Mary Smith Goetting papers (MS316), Claude Hudspeth papers (MS135), Allen Falby papers (MS149), R. E. Thomason papers (MS140), etc. http://libraryweb.utep.edu/special/finding_aids.php

Organizational records:

El Paso Graduate Nurses' Association (MS276), National Catholic Welfare Conference (Border Office) (MS173), Women's Section, El Paso Chamber of Commerce (MS356), Woman’s Auxiliary of the Texas College of Mines (MS387), etc.

Business records:

            Zork Hardware (MS122), Southern Pacific Company (Rio Grande Division) (MS077), The Popular Dry Goods (MS317), Horace B. Stevens papers (MS153), O.H. Thorman Architectural records (MS147), Chisos Mining Company records (MS044), etc.

Photographic collections:

            Gertrude Fitzgerald photographs (PH025) , Leona Washington photograph collection (PH033), Casasola Studio photos (PH041), etc. Browse photos at  http://cdm15823.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/

Artificial Collections: UTEP collection (MS001) , El Paso Theater Programs (MS359), etc.  Some historical resources on UTEP are available at http://digitalcommons.utep.edu/utep_hist/

Directories:

            El Paso city directories, 1889-

            (Some city directories are now online at http://digitalcommons.utep.edu/city_direct/ or at                                                      https://texashistory.unt.edu/)

            El Paso phone books, 1921-

Maps:

            Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps, Southern Pacific RR maps, city plats, other blue line maps, and assorted historical maps of Texas, the Southwest, and Mexico

Oral Histories:

            Over 1400 oral history interviews (Some are online at http://digitalcommons.utep.edu/interviews/)

Government records:

            Texas county and local records:

            El Paso County Records (Deed books, sheriffs' minute books, probate files, etc.), City of El Paso reports, Texas Eighth District Court of Appeals.  (Inventory of El Paso County records is at http://libraryweb.utep.edu/special/finding_aids/MS132_El-Paso-County-Records_attach.pdf)

Newspapers and journals:

            Prospector, Revista Católica, El Paso newspapers on microfilm, samples and short runs of various local and regional newspapers and magazines.  Online copies of The Prospector are available online at http://theprospector.newspaperarchive.com/ 

            (See also online sources like NewspaperArchive.com (Access Newspaper Archive ) or the Chronicling America site at the Library of Congress at http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/ )

 

Contact information:  Claudia Rivers, 747-6725; email crivers@utep.edu

                                 Abbie Weiser, 747-6839; email ahweiser@utep.edu

Special Collections website: http://libraryweb.utep.edu/