Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum
The Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum is an educational institution that uses trans-disciplinary approaches to increasing knowledge about the past, present, and future, especially related to the diversity and relationships in nature and among cultures.
We provide collection-based research and learning for greater public understanding and appreciation of the world in which we live, drawing on the wisdom of ancient traditions and modern science. Its collections, public learning programs, and collaborative research are inseparably linked to serve a diverse public of varied ages, backgrounds, and knowledge.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Museum's collection of ancient Egyptian art consists of approximately twenty-six thousand objects of artistic, historical, and cultural importance, dating from the Paleolithic to the Roman period (ca. 300,000 B.C.–A.D. 4th century). More than half of the collection is derived from the Museum's thirty-five years of archaeological work in Egypt, initiated in 1906 in response to increasing Western interest in the culture of ancient Egypt.
The University of Memphis- Institute of Egyptian Art and Archaeology
The Institute of Egyptian Art and Archaeology is a Tennessee Center of Excellence. It is a component of the Department of Art at The University of Memphis, in Memphis, Tennessee (USA). The IEAA is dedicated to the study of the art, history and culture of ancient Egypt through teaching, research, exhibition, and community education.
The Field Museum
The Field Museum is one of the few places in the country where you can explore an ancient Egyptian tomb. The Museum’s three-story recreation of a mastaba features two authentic rooms from the 5,000-year-old tomb of pharaoh’s son Unis-Ankh. From hieroglyphs, mummies, and a Book of the Dead, to a marketplace showing artifacts from everyday life, this exhibition demonstrates how the elaborate preparations that ancient Egyptians made for the afterlife give clues to their lives on Earth—and to what ancient Egyptians might have had in common with people today.
Penn Museum houses one of the largest collections of Egyptian and Nubian material in the United States, numbering in excess of 42,000 items. Assembled through nearly a century of archaeological research, this collection is unusual in that the vast majority of the objects were obtained through archaeological investigations in Egypt and entered the museum through a division of finds with Egypt’s Antiquities Service.
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
Art of the Ancient World is home to one of the world’s premiere encyclopedic collections of antiquities, featuring more than 85,000 works of art from Egypt, Nubia, the Near East, Greece, Italy, Cyprus, and Anatolia. These works range in date from about 6500 BC to AD 600 and include diverse media—sculpture, jewelry, coffins, mummies, coins, weapons, architecture, vases, carved gems, musical instruments, and mosaics. Special strengths of the collection are Old Kingdom Egyptian art, Nubian art of all periods, Greek vases, coins and gems, and Roman funerary art and imperial portraiture.
Emory University- Michael C. Carlos Museum
The collection of Ancient Egyptian and Nubian antiquities at the Michael C. Carlos Museum covers the full spectrum of Nile Valley civilization, from the earliest Prehistoric times, to the period of Roman domination. At the core of the collection are the artifacts acquired by Emory professor William Shelton, who traveled to Egypt in 1920. The collection has experienced tremendous growth, beginning in 1999 with the purchase of Egyptian antiquities from a small, private museum in Niagara Falls, Canada. The objects from the Niagara Falls Museum had been purchased in Egypt during the early 1860s, and include ten mummies, nine coffins, and a variety of other artifacts. The Niagara collection consists primarily of funerary material from the 21st Dynasty (ca. 1070–946 BC) to the Roman Period (ca. 31 BC–395 AD), a time of great achievement in the funerary arts.
Exhibit tells the story of Egyptian art from its earliest known origins (circa 3500 B.C.E.) until the period when the Romans incorporated Egypt into their empire (30 B.C.E.–395 C.E.). Additional exhibits illustrate important themes about Egyptian culture, including women’s roles, permanence and change in Egyptian art, temples and tombs, technology and materials, art and communication, and Egypt and its relationship to the rest of Africa. More than 1,200 objects—comprising sculpture, relief, paintings, pottery, and papyri—are now on view, including such treasures as an exquisite chlorite head of a Middle Kingdom princess, an early stone deity from 2650 B.C.E., a relief from the tomb of a man named Akhty-hotep, and a highly abstract female terracotta statuette created over five thousand years ago.
The Cleveland Museum of Art
Egyptian antiquities were the first works of art acquired by the Cleveland Museum of Art in 1913, even before there was a building to house them. Today the Egyptian collection is internationally recognized as one of the finest collections of its kind. Its reputation stems from the high number of masterpieces and overall high aesthetic quality and sophistication relative to its small size. All periods of Egyptian art are represented. Its greatest strengths are the sculptures and reliefs from the reign of Amenhotep III, the sculptures and reliefs of the Late Period and Greco-Roman Period, and decorative arts, including cosmetic objects, stone vessels, and some of the finest Ptolemaic period faience in existence.
Los Angeles County Museum of Art | LACMA
Ranging in date from the fourth millennium B.C. through the end of the Coptic period (7th century A.D.), the approximately two thousand works of art in the museum's Egyptian collection present a broad overview of artistic production. The strengths of the collection include Predynastic stone palettes and vessels, Old Kingdom tomb reliefs, bronze figures of deities, and a 21st Dynasty sarcophagus. Explore selected Scarabs or read about Mummification.
The Oriental Institute Museum- The University of Chicago
The Oriental Institute Museum is a world-renowned showcase for the history, art, and archaeology of the ancient Near East. The museum displays objects recovered by Oriental Institute excavations in permanent galleries devoted to ancient Egypt, Nubia, Persia, Mesopotamia, Syria, Anatolia, and the ancient site of Megiddo, as well as rotating special exhibits.