Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Magazine Articles
Week 2 assignment requires the students to use the UTEP Databases to find a Magazine article.
Magazine Title Search
You can search for specific magazine titles in the "Journal Title Search" portion of our online catalog. Magazines are not considered to be journals, however through this method you are able to find any and all of our electronic holdings by title, including newspapers and magazines.
So if you are looking for articles form Newsweek, you would type that into the search field. You can also search by the first letter of a title, if you aren't entirely sure of the exact title and you can even search by subject category.
If the library has electronic access to the magazine you're looking for, you will be taken to a result page. In the result page, below the title of the magazine you want to browse, you will be given a list of databases that the magazine is located in. Sometimes a particularly magazine is only in one database or several. And in some cases, the date coverage and vary wildly depending on the database. So choose whichever database you feel offers you the best coverage.
Limiting your results to Magazines in Academic Search Complete
Good Magazine Databases
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions.
Provides access to full-text documents from a wide variety of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Sources include: national, regional, and international newspapers; wire services; broadcast transcripts; non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law; codes and regulations; legal news; law reviews; international legal information; Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; business news journals; company financial information; and SEC filings and reports as well as industry and market news. Coverage and updates vary by title and document type. NOTE: Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic. See also: WestlawNext Campus Research.