SOWK 5360: Social Welfare Policy II (Schmidt): Governmental Sites & Sources

• Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
  AHRQ's is the Nation's lead federal agency for research on health care quality, costs, outcomes, and patient safety.
• Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)
  ATSDR, based in Atlanta, Georgia, is a federal public health agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. ATSDR serves the public by using the best science, taking responsive public health actions, and providing trusted health information to prevent harmful exposures and diseases related to toxic substances.
• AHRQ Funding Opportunities
   
• CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
  CDC Provides information and statistics on prevention and control of diseases, injury, and disability. Check Health Topics A-Z and Traveler's Health.
• CDC - National Center for Health Statistics
  The primary source for health statistics from the federal government.
• CDC - Traveler's Health
   
• Department of Health & Human Services – DHHS
  DHHS is the principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans.
• DHHS - Administration for Children and Families (ACF)
  A division of DHHS, it promotes the economic and social well-being of families, children, individuals and communities.
• ​Federal Trade Commission (FTC) – Consumer Information – Health & Fitness
• FTC's goal is to prevent fraudulent, deceptive, and unfair business practices in the marketplace and provides information to help consumers spot, stop, and avoid them. Learn how to decode ads for products that promise to cure everything for services that claim to shape you up, restore your youthful glow.
• Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
  FDA is responsible for protecting the public health by assuring the safety, efficacy and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, medical devices, etc.
• Herbal Supplements
   
• MedlinePlus
  MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
• National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM)
  An NIH center, NCCAM scientifically explores CAM therapies, trains CAM researchers; and educates the public and professionals.
• National Library of Medicine (NLM)
  NLM collects, organizes, and makes available biomedical science information to scientists, health professionals, and the public. The Library's Web-based databases, including PubMed/Medline and MedlinePlus, are used extensively around the world.
• NIH (National Institute of Health)
  NIH is the nation’s medical research agency—supporting scientific studies that turn discovery into health.
• NIH - Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
   
• NIH - National Cancer Institute (NCI)
   
• NIH - National Eye Institute
   
• NIH - National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI)
   
• NIH - National Institute of Aging
   
• NIH - National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)
   
• NIH - National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS)
   
• NIH - National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB)
   
• NIH - National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR)
   
• NIH - National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)
   
• NIH - National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
   
• NIH - National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)
   
• NIH - National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
   
• NIH - National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)
   
• NIH - National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)
   
• NIH - National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
   
• NIH - National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)
   
• NIH - National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
   
• NIH - National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)
   
• NIH National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI)

United States Department of Justice: Office on Violence Against Women

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 
The EPA is a cabinet level agency created in 1970 with the mission to protect human health and the environment.

One online resource offered by the EPA is the Envirofacts Data Warehouse. This provides access to major environmental databases. By using the Quick Search feature, you can obtain an environmental profile of a specific region. Other resources of note available through the EPA include:

Office of Air and Radiation - provides information on air quality, acid rain, air pollutants, ozone depletion and radiation.

American Heritage Rivers - This Initiative helps restore and preserve water resources. A State of the River Report is available for every river designated an American Heritage River.

Chemicals in the Environment: OPPT Chemical Fact Sheets - Offers Fact Sheets and Chemical Summaries for selected chemicals.

Enforcement and Compliance History - Find regulation and compliance histories on regulated facilities.

Green Vehicle Guide - online users guide that ranks the environmental performance of recent cars.

Climate Change - information on the causes and effects of climate change.

National Oceanic and Atmopheric Administration (NOAA)  The NOAA, which is over-seen by the Department of Commerce, is a federal agency that studies the condition of the oceans and atmosphere. NOAA offers a great amount of resources for anyone studying the state of the world's oceans, marine life, climate or climate change. Among the many resources available through the NOAA you can find:

National Climate Data Center - Archives weather and climate data. Includes information on global climate change.

Coastal Ocean Program - includes information and reports about managing coastal ecosystems.

Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory - read reports on topics such as oceanography, tropical meteorology, atmospheric and oceanic chemistry and acoustics.

National Marine Fisheries Service - Includes the publications Our Living Oceans Annual Report and Fisheries of the United States.

Great Lakes Environmental Research Laboratory - Houses scientific and environmental reports on the Great Lakes.

 United State Geological Survey (USGS) 
The mission of this federal organization is to provide "reliable scientific information to describe and understand the Earth; minimize loss of life and property from natural disasters; manage water, biological, energy, and mineral resources; and enhance and protect our quality of life."

Publications Warehouse - searches all USGS publications. Note that not all publications listed are available in full text. If you are interested in a document not available in full text, check the catalog for availability or request the document through interlibrary loan (ILLiad).

National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Besides space exploration, NASA also has a variety of sources on environmental issues here on earth, often with a global outlook and unique visual data.

NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies - Provides a wealth of interdisciplinary research on global climate change.

NASA-Earth Observatory - Access free publications and images about the earth and environment from NASA. You have the option of viewing satellite images on a specific topic and converting them into animations to see how the environment changed over time.

NASA-The Environment - Browse through NASA news and reports on the environment.

Earth Systems Science Data and Services - Access research reports on environmental, ecological and earth science topics from NASA.

Also try...

U.S. Climate Change Science Program - The purpose of this resource is to climate change research from thirteen different federal agencies, run by Office of Science and Technology Policy, the Council on Environmental Quality, the National Economic Council and the Office of Management and Budget. While somewhat disorganized, it does offer full text access to some important documentation on climate change. This is a good starting point for researching climate change and global warming.

Treesearch - searches all research and development publications by the Forest Service.

Natural Resources Conservation Service - Includes a plant database, extensive soil information and digital publications on managing natural resources.

Fish and Wildlife Service - National service aiming to conserve and protect wildlife and habitats. Digital publications are available through the library link. Includes information on Endangered Species (http://endangered.fws.gov/).

Science.gov - Use science.gov to search for science information from a number of government agencies in one place. You may search by adding keywords or browse by topic. There is an "Environment & Environmental Quality" topic and a "Biology & Nature" topic that may be of particular interest for those studying the environment.

Bureau of Land Management - This federal bureau has a vast number of reports and publications on land management and conservation with an emphasis on the western half of the United States. This site is best accessed by the search feature as not all reports are readily found by browsing.