Skip to Main Content

Sources about the Holocaust in Special Collections

This guide includes select sources in the C.L. Sonnichsen Special Collections Department about the Holocaust.

Getting Started with Research

The C.L. Sonnichsen Special Collections Department is located on the sixth floor of the UTEP Library.

Special Collections contains a variety of primary and secondary sources about the Holocaust. These include published works in the Military, Art, Faculty, and Judaica book collections and multiple archival collections.

There are additional books about the Holocaust in the General Collection (print and online).

Here are some tips to help you get started with your research:

  • Quality historical research takes time. Start early.
  • You will probably start with a broader topic and then narrow it to fit your assignments.
  • Always start with a keyword search in the library catalog. You might need to refine your search terms or do multiple keyword searches. See the "Advanced Searching" tab for more information.
  • Click on appropriate Library of Congress subject headings in catalog records to find more sources.
  • Consult an archivist or library subject specialist.
  • If possible, call or email an archivist before you visit an archives or special collections department.
  • Start with secondary sources (i .e. books, scholarly articles, encyclopedias) for context and literature reviews.
  • Mine bibliographies of secondary sources  (i.e. see what sources historians used).
  • After reviewing secondary sources, proceed to studying primary sources.
  • Take careful notes when reviewing primary and secondary sources.
  • Make sure to document where images, quotes, ideas, etc. came from.
  • Proofread your work carefully.

To view UTEP Library resource and research tutorials, click here.

To learn about using archives, click here.

To view a short video about how to use UTEP Special Collections, click here.

Archivist / Librarian

 

Contact:
Library, Sixth Floor
915/747-6725

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |