Skip to main content

History 5306/5309 Fascism, Populism, and Their Opponents

This research guide provides information for students in History 5306/5309 Fascism, Populism, and Their Opponents.

Introduction

 

Course Description: Dr. Sandra McGee Deutsch, History 5306/5309  Fascism, Populism, and Their Opponents

Donald Trump (United States), Jair Bolsonaro (Brazil), Boris Johnson (Britain), Viktor Orbán (Hungary), Narendra Modi (India) – it is clear that right-wing populists have come to power in country after country.  Few have grasped, however, that Latin America was the first place where the modern version of this phenomenon appeared.  This course will trace and explore a variety of rightist movements -- ranging from conservative to right-wing populist to fascist -- around the world.  We will compare these groups and analyze the connections among them across ideological, temporal, and national borders.  No less important is the opposition they have sparked.  How have people contested and fought against rightist movements? We will examine these contending forces using the perspectives of gender, race, class, and culture.  The readings will cover Latin America, Europe, the United States, Africa, and Asia, as well as theoretical issues related to gender, transnational and comparative history, and revolution and counterrevolution.  History students can take this course either for World (5306) or Latin American (5309) credit.

This is a studies course that concentrates on the use of secondary sources.  Nevertheless, if students wish to investigate the possibilities of writing a seminar paper or thesis on fascism, populism, and their opponents, in a future class, this guide includes primary sources as well.

 

Getting started with research:

  • Quality, graduate-level research takes time. Start early.
  • Always start with a keyword search in the library catalog. You might need to refine your search terms or do multiple keyword searches.
  • Click on appropriate Library of Congress subject headings in catalog records to find more sources.
  • Consult an archivist or library subject specialist.
  • If possible, call or email an archivist before you visit an archives or special collections department.
  • Start with secondary sources (i .e. books, scholarly articles, encyclopedias) for context and literature reviews.
  • Mine bibliographies of secondary sources  (i.e. see what sources historians used).
  • Take careful notes when reviewing primary and secondary sources.
  • Make sure to document where images, quotes, ideas, etc. came from.
  • Order books via Interlibrary Loan in advance of any deadlines.
  • Proofread your papers carefully.
  • And have someone else proofread your papers. 

To view UTEP Library resource and research tutorials, click here.

To learn about using archives, click here.

To view a short video about how to use UTEP Special Collections, click here.

 

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |