UTEP Library Research Guides: Copyright and Intellectual Property: Researchers/ Authors

UTEP Quick Links

Publisher Copyright Policies

To locate information on publisher copyright policies, look under “Instructions for Authors” or “Copyright Information” on the journal website.

Examples of the publication rights of authors:

Elsevier

Amending Publisher Agreements

Scholar's Copyright Addendum Engine: Created by SPARC, ARL, and Science Commons, this tool helps you generate a form that you can attach to a journal publisher's copyright agreement based on the rights you want to retain.

University of Minnesota Author’s Addendum (PDF): Created for UMN faculty, this document instructs authors on how to add an addendum to a journal publisher's copyright agreement.

University Library Databases

The subscription databases are available to current faculty, students and staff from on-campus. Remote access is available through VPN, the library proxy server and MyDesktop.

Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities This link opens in a new window
Provides full text online access to the following titles: Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Accounting, Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Curriculum and Methods, Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Psychology and Administration, Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Technology and Library Science, and Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Economics and Finance. Each directory includes current contact information for a wide range of selected academic journals within the disciplines covered, ranging from addresses, phone and fax numbers to e-mail addresses and websites. Also includes information on publication guidelines as well as detailed review information.
https://app.cabells.com
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Unique journal evaluation tool that provides statistical information based on citation data drawn from a wide range of international scholarly and technical journals tracked in Web of Science. Subject coverage includes virtually all subdisciplines in the areas of science, technology, and the social sciences. Statistical data provided includes impact factor (relative importance to others in the same field), immediacy (citation frequency), article counts, cited half-life (benchmarking by age of cited articles), and source data (review articles versus original research articles).
https://jcr.clarivate.com

Research, Scholarship and Copyright

Resources for UTEP Faculty and Staff

Open Access, Scholarly Communication and Publishing

Benefits of Open Access for Research Dissemination
OASIS - Open Access Scholarly Information Sourcebook
SPARC
Scholarly Publishing & Academic Resources Coalition is an international alliance of academic and research libraries working to correct imbalances in the scholarly publishing system.
Author Rights
Information provided by SPARC including link to SPARC Author Addendum. Learn more about retaining rights and the tools that are available to help authors do so.
Advancing Scholarly Communication
Information provided by ARL (Association of Research Libraries) to help promote models of scholarly communication that provide barrier-free access to quality information.
Online Guide to Open Access Journals Publishing
Provides practical information and tools to support the efforts of scholars and other small teams producing independent Open Access journals.
Sherpo/ Romeo
RoMEO is a searchable database of publisher's policies regarding the self- archiving of journal articles on the web and in Open Access repositories. RoMEO is searchable by publisher name, journal title, ISSN.
Publish or Perish
Publish or Perish is a software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations. It uses Google Scholar to obtain the raw citations, then analyzes and formulates the results into standard citation metrics.
Society for Scholarly Publishing (SSP)
The Society for Scholarly Publishing (SSP), founded in 1978, is a nonprofit organization formed to promote and advance communication among all sectors of the scholarly publication community through networking, information dissemination, and facilitation of new developments in the field.
Association of American Publishers (AAP)
AAP is the trade association for the U.S. book publishers, providing advocacy and communications on behalf of the industry.
Association of American University Presses
Assists more than 130 member presses through professional education, cooperative services, and public advocacy.
Open Access Research Guide
University Library research guide for more information on open access.

Indexing Research Manuscripts

TEXTRACT
A book indexing software tool that allows you to make a high-quality back-of-the-book index for the printed or digital edition of an English or Dutch language publication using a unique combination of automated and manual indexing.
PDF Index Generator
Indexing utility for generating the back of your book index and writing it to your book in (4) easy steps.
CINDEX
Program for preparing indexes to books, newspapers and other periodical publications.