Recommended UTEP Library Sources

Use this tab to find recommended UTEP Library resources, such as databases, journals, and books.

Databases

Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including over 5,000 full-text journals.
LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to full-text documents from a wide variety of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Sources include: national, regional, and international newspapers; wire services; broadcast transcripts; non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law; codes and regulations; legal news; law reviews; international legal information; Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; business news journals; company financial information; and SEC filings and reports as well as industry and market news. Coverage and updates vary by title and document type. NOTE: Full text access to the El Paso Times is now available in LexisNexis Academic from 1999 - present. See also: WestlawNext Campus Research.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Comprehensive bibliographic index for business literature worldwide, including management, marketing, management of information systems (MIS), production and operations management (POM), economics, finance, econometrics, accounting, international business, and other areas.

Guide to Managerial Communication by Mary Munter; Lynn Hamilton
Call Number: HF5718 .M86 2014
ISBN: 9780132971331
Publication Date: 2013-01-08
Applied Crisis Communication and Crisis Management by W. Timothy Coombs
Call Number: HD49 .C6625 2014
ISBN: 9781452217802
Publication Date: 2013-06-11
Business Communication by Zane K. Quible; Margaret H. Johnson; Dennis L. Mott
Call Number: Check library record for availability.
ISBN: 0133044297
Publication Date: 1995-07-06
Today's Business Communication: a How-To Guide for the Modern Professional by Jason L. Snyder; Robert Forbus
Call Number: Check library record for availability.
ISBN: 9781306374736
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Electronic Book

E-book Provider Characteristics Chart

Please note: List is not comprehensive: does not include all possible e-book providers.

Feature:	E-book Provider:	E-book Provider:	E-book Provider:	Other E-book Providers:
	Ebook Library (EBL)	EBSCOhost	Safari/ProQuest	Science Direct Springer Link
Can I download book and/or chapters?	Yes. To save a chapter, click Print. This subtracts from the page printing allowance that it gives you.	Yes.	No.	Yes.
What program do I need to download this?	Adobe Digital Editions is required	Desktop: Adobe® Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher is required for offline viewing. Apple^® and Android™: The EBSCO eBooks app is available on the App Store^® or Google Play™ Kindle: PDFs can be created in the eBook Full Text view and transferred using Send To Kindle	Not applicable.	Web browser to view online. PDF reader/viewer to download & view.
Can I read this e-book online?	Yes (in the web browser you’re using)	Yes (choose PDF option)	Yes (in the web browser you’re using)	Yes (in the web browser you’re using)
Access issues?	No, (other than your UTEP username/password).	Yes, besides your UTEP username/password, you will need to set up a free user account with EBSCO.	No, (other than your UTEP username/password).	No, (other than your UTEP username/password).

Business communication quarterly
Practice-oriented publication covering teaching and organizational applications. Includes course outlines, descriptions of training programs, problems and solutions and more.
Business communications review
Feature articles, profiles, commentary and news specifically for voice and data communications decision-makers at large end-user organizations; information, insight and analysis.

Business communication: writing
On his first day on the job, Mark already has a writing assignment. How should he begin? In this dramatization, Mark quickly learns the four steps to good writing-plan, write, revise, and edit-as well as the differences between a memo, a letter, and a report. Revisions are displayed on his computer screen as he actually makes them, providing concrete examples of the writing process in action.
Business communication: speaking
Mark's public speaking nightmare has materialized into reality: he must present his department's new marketing plan to the board of directors. This dramatization tracks Mark's preparations, during which he learns good speaking techniques, effective methods for organizing a speech, tips for minimizing stage fright, and the importance of nonverbal communication.
Business communication: reading
If Mark and his colleagues are to meet a tight research deadline, they will have to read faster-and smarter-than ever. This dramatization illustrates the value of taking a time-saving approach to reading, which includes using skimming and active reading techniques, taking advantage of reader-friendly devices designed to help pinpoint information, and diligently concentrating on the content target zone.